User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Third-Party Products »

Microsoft code garbage?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Microsoft code garbage?
alexluft

2005-04-27, 21:19

I'm not a programmer or a developer so I don't know much in the code-writing area, but after recently switching to the Mac platform, I heard from Mac fan sites that Microsoft Windows code is terrible and garbage and etc... Why is this so??? How is code compared (like a computer chip is compared by clock speed, bus, cache, threads, etcc....)?
Is it really inferior and poorly designed and written or was it that Mac fans were bashing the Windows platform?

Can someone explain to me please???

PS: I don't mean DOS, I'm talking about Windows XP and 2000 and such that from what I've heard aren't DOS-based.
Kickaha
Veteran Member

2005-04-27, 21:23

I've known a number of folks who have worked at MS. Most of them are very bright. The stories they tell, however... oy.

For those programmers in the audience, prior to Office 2000, Excel's macro language parser was a 33,000+ line *switch statement*. ONE.

Most companies have highly unpretty code, but the stories I've heard from the bowels of Redmond take the cake.

Heck, look at the security problems... those are either outright incompetence, or because the code is so badly designed that even intelligent people can't see the problems.
torifile
Less than Stellar Member

Send a message via AIM to torifile  
2005-04-27, 21:26

Most of us just like to bash MS just because. I'd say 99.9% of us have no idea what we're talking about but we're probably right when we say stuff like Windows is poorly written. There are a few of us here who know what they're talking about and could tell you why it's crap.