AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

My Boss Sucks, My Job Sucks. I Suck!

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
My Boss Sucks, My Job Sucks. I Suck!
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
usurp
High Monarch of MacDebate

2004-10-17, 04:37

urgh some days i just can't stand it at work!

i am a creative designer working in a small advertising agency. we do not have a creative director. its me and 2 other designers and thats all. But we report to our boss (ie the owner of the agency).

He doesnt have a degree in anything, he doesnt have good taste or any good ideas... unless ofcourse he got them out of a design magazine or book.

sometimes i feel like i am a factory worker. i graduated the best in my class, was featured under young designers from the Middle East and am friends with some of the best designers in the middle east. Yet if you see me now and you saw me before i started working here you would think we were 2 different people. i used to think i was creative, now i am just boring. i mean when you get a paper with a layout already drawn on it and with the orders "do it like this", how else am i gonna turn out. After 3 years here i have even lost the will to fight about stuff like this.

why do i stay?

the money is good. the office is 5 minutes away. my wife works in the same office as a designer also so we carpool everyday. its basically convenient. I dont have any money saved up so i cant quit and go look for another job.

i just need to know, this is normal right? no one here likes their jobs right? I am not the only one who is stuck in a job for the money and the convenience right??? please say right..

portable: MacBook 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD | personal: PowerMac G5 dual 2.3ghz, 6GB RAM, 6TB HD | work: MacBook Pro 2.5ghz, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD | car: Alpine iDA-W407 with black iPod 80GB | pocket: iPhone 3GS with Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro's
Gargoyle
http://ga.rgoyle.com

2004-10-17, 06:32