User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

imac g5 - sleep problem?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
imac g5 - sleep problem?
bjskew

2005-01-03, 16:41

sorry if this is a dumb question... (i am a newb), but...

when i put my imc g5 to sleep manually (going through the menu), the light on the front pulsates. however, when it goes to sleep through inactivity, the screen turns off and the light remains on (does not pulsate). it is not a problem with my putting the display to sleep only as i have turned this feature off).

any suggestions?

sorry if my ignorance is showing.
Wickers
is not a kind of basket

2005-01-03, 16:56

It sounds like OSX is just turning off the monitor when not active... not going to sleep.
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-01-03, 17:10

\/\/ickes is right. It's putting the display to sleep but not (yet?) putting the whole system to sleep.

Check the Energy Saver pane in your System Preferences. You'll see two separate sliders, one for the display and one for the whole system. You may need to click the Show Details buttons to get the sliders and advanced options.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ

2005-01-03, 17:11

Hah! Okay, Brad, you got your fair share of thread moves. Time for me to move this one before you.

Tech support questions belong in the Genius Bar.
bjskew

2005-01-03, 17:16

first, sorry for not posting in the first place.

i adjusted the settings (the ones for the display only and the system as a whole). i turned the display setting to 'never' and the system setting for 5 min to try it out. but, after 5 min, the display goes black and the light doesn't pulsate. anything else i can do?
holbox

2005-01-04, 19:52

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjskew