AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

Drunk driving...

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Drunk driving...
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
Paul
Veteran Member

2005-06-17, 10:35

I recently turned 21 and it has been a lot of fun. The one major change for me is not the ability to drink, as I have been doing that fairly easily for a while now, but the loss of the "zero tolerance" policy when driving. To be perfectly honest I'm new to the whole drinking and driving thing. I would never let myself get behind the wheel even after like a sip of wine, but since turning 21 this has changed. I'm obviously not driving drunk, but I have had like 2 beers or so over the evening and drove people home... How do you know when you are over the legal limit? There was this one time where I probably shouldn't have gotten behind the wheel, but luckily while parking in Brighton someone was kind enough to put a rock through my window which prevented me from leaving... (More on this story later. I have pictures.)

I figured I would ask the AN collective because we have a bunch of *ahem* "seasoned" veteran drinkers here and I'm sure there are quite a few hidden nuggets of wisdom (and humor ) on this topic...

So, this is an open thread. Please comment on your experiences with "legal" "drunk" driving. What is your routine when going out to see if you have had one too many? What about friends? Do you actively use DDs? When would you refuse to get into a car with someone who has been drinking?