User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

How to Manage/Administer a SQL database guide/tutorial?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
How to Manage/Administer a SQL database guide/tutorial?
Banana
is the next Chiquita

2007-05-31, 08:55

At my work I've been a de facto DBA and they like it so much they want to expand it, which necessitates migration from Access to SQL. Now, I am already familiar with executing SQL commands, but not so with setting up and administering a SQL database.

I was hoping anyone could recommend a good resources. FWIW, we may either use Mircosoft SQL Server or MySQL, but if the resources isn't specific to a vendor, the better. I don't just want a how-to guide, which I can easily find for whatever vendor I may use. I'm more interested in one that discuss the theory and show good design practices for managing SQL database.

The other thing I'm kind of curious is, would you prefer either CLI or GUI over the other? I'm terribly tempted to say GUI as the data relationship are very complex that if I were to go CLI, I'd have to do lot of paper scribbling to make sure I have the query command correct. Some articles favoring CLI basically says that GUI just doesn't do what you intends to do and if you guys do think CLI is the way to go, I'd like to know how one would keep track of relationships with minimum of paper scribbling or whatever. I'm trying with the idea of having a dummy copy of the database in Access GUI to help me sort through the tables and fields fast then write down the SQL command myself into the CLI, but maybe you have a better suggestions.

Your advices is much appreciated.
Wyatt
Veteran Member

2007-05-31, 08:59