Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Quad config?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Quad config?
gladh

2005-11-25, 10:41

Hi all....
New on the forum and new to Mac...so pls excuse if my questions is in some way naive.

I work as a professional photographer and have always used PC, for the moment with Adobes Photoshop Cs2 and Bridge.

Rawfiles from cameras (now 17MP and 20MB for me) getting bigger and my PC just doesnt deliver anymore even though i have one concidered to be very fast.

My goal is to speed up the workflow.
So my first Mac and Aperture is shipped and on its way. It is a Quad G5, 4GB ram and 2x500GB HD.

Im used to configure disks in Raid0 in pc, both Scsi and Sata.
When i ordered the Quad i was told it will be delivered non Raid and my first question is how to set it up to Raid 0.
I suppose i have to reinstall the OS after some configuration?
What is the best set up on this 1TB Raid0 volume?
Use it as 1 or 2 partitions for OS and storage?

My second question concerns backup to external FW800 disks.

In PC i used Nortons Ghost for mirror the system C: and OS on a regular basis and XP:s backup for backing up all my images.
Is there a good way in MacOS to back up both system and storage, with just changes made since last backup, to the external disk?

Anyone have some experience concerning this matters?

Best regards

Jerry Gladh
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-11-25, 10:58

Welcome to AppleNova!

Why have you chosen to use RAID 0? As I understand, RAID 0 offers few real benefits with the highest risk. There's no redundancy at all and if any of the drives fails, all of the data is useless.

Anyhow, to reformat the drives in a software RAID, you simply boot from the system install CD/DVD and choose to use Disk Utility. Select your drive, click the RAID tab, and configure it as you like. Yes, you will need to reinstall your software afterwards.