AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

CSS question.

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
CSS question.
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
Wickers
is not a kind of basket

2005-01-02, 21:10

Well like most of my projects... I have left my website in the closet for a few months.

Today I pulled it out and dusted it off.... it looks nice but I was starting to feel the limit of standard tables in HTML.

So I moved on to CSS!

This is my first attempt so be nice... I have a lot to learn but it seems easy to pick up.

Getting to the point, I have moved some of my HTML over to my new CSS based page... and ditched the rest. What I want to do is create a simple menu that has each item change it's background colour when rolled over by the mouse.

Kinda like how this nav. menu does it: http://www.mozilla.org/support/

I wgetted the css files from that site... but I can't seem to find the area that takes care of it's side menu.

So far my section for my menu on my CSS page looks like this:
Code:
ul.navbar { list-style-type: none; padding: 0; margin: 0; position: absolute; top: 2em; left: 1em; width: 9em } ul.navbar li { background: lightgrey; margin: 0em 0; padding: 0.3em; border-right: 1em solid black } ul.navbar a { text-decoration: none } a:link { color: blue } a:visited { color: purple }
So what would be my next step?

no sig, how's that for being a rebel!
Wickers
is not a kind of basket

2005-01-02, 21:13

Oh, I am also trying to get the menu to fallow along as you scroll down.
Wickers
is not a kind of basket

2005-01-02, 21:24

by adding.
Code:
a:hover { background: cyan }
I can get the links in the menu co do what I want... but it does not effect the whole area around the menu section, just around the text. Once again, I want it to look like that link in my first post.

Last edited by Wickers : 2005-01-02 at 21:30.
staph
Microbial member

Send a message via AIM to staph  
2005-01-02, 21:33

Is something like this what you're after?