Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Bizarra Keynote Problem

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Bizarra Keynote Problem
daviegravie

2005-02-26, 22:30

Ok... this sounds silly but here is my problem:

I installed Keynote and threw together a quick presentation. When I was done, I exported it to my desktop in Powerpoint format (worked fine).
Then I went to do a Save As to save the presentation in Keynote format onto my hardrive and nothing happens. If I hit Save or Save As nothing happens. If I try to close the program I get a "Are you sure you want to quit, you will lose your work" type message.

I cannot save and close Keynote without losing my work... what the heck is going on?

Please help.

Ps. I am new to the Mac world so I could possibly be missing something that is normal for Macs and not necessary on Windows...?
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-02-27, 00:14

Weird. Sounds like a bug in the program. This is the new Keynote 2.0?

Testing... Yup. Definitely an isolated bug. This is not normal operation. You should report this bug with everything you just mentioned and any other details you can recall.

Fortunately, since you DID export it to a PowerPoint, you can safely quit Keynote and import the PPT file you saved to the desktop.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
daviegravie

2005-02-27, 08:04

Brad:
Are you saying that you tried to duplicate my problem and you were able to?

This is bothersome because it is such a simple (I would think common) thing I am doing. This program is useless to me without being able to export to powerpoint and save. Thanks for the workaround however, I will do that in this case and maybe try to return the program.

Dave
MCQ
Veteran Member