User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Speculation and Rumors »

Speculation on Merom in MBP down the road?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Speculation on Merom in MBP down the road?
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
wubbus

2006-04-16, 22:15

Hello,

I am new to the forum so go easy on me I am relatively new to Apple as well so....

In your educated and informed opinion, will we be looking at a Merom-equipped MBP sometime this year? Or is that simply such a stretch of the imagination....

I tried searching the forum for this but I could not find anything of substance....

Thanks in advance.

p.s. This is not merely to satisfy my burning need to know, but because i need to buy a laptop before i return to school. I will buy a MBP sometime in August/Sept however if there is a chance that we are looking at a serious upgrade to the MBP innards then I will hold off.
gsxrboy

2006-04-16, 22:35

Apple wont have a choice in the matter really.. once merom hits every other manufacturer will be all over it.. and with good reason.. merom is really what Apple has been waiting for in portables.

As good as yonah is, its just a steeping stone to the full new tech of the merom/conroe etc architecture.

Short answer - yes, hopefully by October(ish) they will be out.. seems to be conflicting reports wether they are being delayed (for no technical reason) until new year or not.
Rolo

2006-04-16, 23:15

I agree, Merom should be out in October unless it's pushed back for some reason.
onlooker.org

2006-04-16, 23:24

I think the release schedule intel laid out was Woodcrest, Conroe, Merom.

All I really remember was Woodcrest was first, but I thought they were doing it from Server/WS, Desktop, to Portable. So the way I listed it would be correct.

I Am SciFi

-onlooker.org
Franz Josef
Passing by

2006-04-17, 16:52

Good question - Meroms are expected early Q4 this year but it's anyone's guess if Apple will move quickly from Yonah to Merom in MBPs
wubbus