User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Possible Bad Ethernet Port


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Possible Bad Ethernet Port
Thread Tools
section8joe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
 
2005-10-12, 10:25

I can't get online with my ibook and I don't know if my ethernet port is bad. Is there a way to test the ethernet port? Im running the hardware test right now and it doesn't seem to be picking up problems.
  quote
WBG4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA CPSU
Send a message via ICQ to WBG4 Send a message via AIM to WBG4  
2005-10-12, 10:33

What ip is it getting? have you checked the cable and the jack?
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2005-10-12, 10:33

There's ethernet testing devices, but they're not that cheap, e.g. http://store.elementsource.com/bxforneandca.html for $46.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2005-10-12, 10:43

Before you condemn your jack try to "refresh" your IP address.

When Cox changes my IP I have had to manually "refresh" my IP address to reconnect.
  quote
section8joe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
 
2005-10-12, 10:51

when i plug into the router or the cable modem no light turn on.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2005-10-12, 11:06

Quote:
Originally Posted by section8joe
when i plug into the router or the cable modem no light turn on.
That is a very bad sign. Do you have AppleCare?
  quote
section8joe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
 
2005-10-12, 11:07

One thing i just noticed was when I connect directly to the modem and reset the modem I still don't get a light. When I go into system profiler my ip address is listed along with my net mask. What in the world am I doing wrong???????
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2005-10-12, 11:16

Quote:
Originally Posted by section8joe
One thing i just noticed was when I connect directly to the modem and reset the modem I still don't get a light. When I go into system profiler my ip address is listed along with my net mask. What in the world am I doing wrong???????
Check the pins in your iBook's jack. Make sure none of them are bent.
  quote
section8joe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
 
2005-10-12, 11:38

they don't seem to be bent.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2005-10-12, 11:42

This really sounds like a hardware issue to me. Can you take it by an Apple store? Maybe even a friends house and see if it can get online there?

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
section8joe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
 
2005-10-12, 11:45

i don't have an airport card installed. i want to buy one today. do you think the airport card will connect me to the internet even though i can directly connect with the ethernet cable?
  quote
Brad
Selfish Heathen
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
2005-10-12, 11:50

Yes, but even so, unless you are just completely out of the warranty and it's prohibitively expensive, you should have that fixed. 802.11 may not always be an option for you.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2005-10-12, 11:54

I agree with Brad, only if you are going to be using the 802.11 until you can get the money to fix your book. Think of how often there is not a WiFi connection. Or my favorite it there is a connection, but it isn't to a service you subscribe to!

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
section8joe
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
 
2005-10-12, 13:09

im looking into the ethernet port and it seems that some of the pins are pushed down. Anyway i can get in there and bend them back up?
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring files via Ethernet or FireWire Banana Genius Bar 14 2005-06-15 01:49
Bad powerbook owner! Bad! bmarquis Genius Bar 12 2005-03-11 08:15
Network Status & Built-in Ethernet ryguillian Genius Bar 7 2005-03-10 22:39
new powerbook and its ethernet port boxofjack Genius Bar 6 2005-03-01 04:24
somone sneaking into my system? ThunderPoit General Discussion 8 2004-06-30 09:09


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:57.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2019, AppleNova