Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

CRT vs LCD for graphic design

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
CRT vs LCD for graphic design
pmazer

Send a message via AIM to pmazer  
2005-06-11, 22:00

I'm currently in the market for a monitor, and want something good for graphic design (but I am an amateur, so I can't really rationalize spending too much). I would like to spend in the $200-$300 range, but would be willing to go outside of that slightly if I absolutely have to (no Apple Cinema displays). Also, I'm thinking the size should probably be no less than 17"

I've heard that CRTs have better color quality, but that LCDs are rapidly catching up. What would you suggest for me, and if you could, do you have a specific monitor in mind?
usurp
High Monarch of MacDebate

2005-06-12, 05:51

i use a Lacie CRT, its not a Barco but its great.
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-06-12, 12:01

My five-year-old NEC CRT still beats the pants off any LCD I've seen for response and color correctness. If you work in the creative field and color is critical for your work, a good CRT will still cost you a fraction of an equivalent LCD.

See this thread:
The Authoritative LCDs for Color Critical Work Thread

In your price range, you won't find any great LCDs. Unless you have a really critical eye, though, you don't need a great LCD and a $200 screen should do you just fine.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
dviant
Lord of the Spoiler

2005-06-12, 15:01