User Name
Password

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Future MBP GPU?
wush

2006-05-20, 18:39

I know a lot of people, myself included, are waiting for the Merom-equipped MacBook Pros.

It just occurred to me that my real concern is the same X1600 GPU present all the way up to the high end. The current Core Duo (Yonah) is one of the fastest consumer CPUs out there, whilst supposedly only being a stop-gap before Merom. The X1600 GPU is already decidely mid-range and a plain old CPU upgrade is going to create a seriously imbalanced notebook. I'm a games player and developer. I want to buy a Mac, but I can see this being a real concern.

Do you think we will see a GPU upgrade or BTO option in future MBPs?
ShadowOfGed
Travels via TARDIS

2006-05-20, 18:56

Quote:
Originally Posted by wush
Do you think we will see a GPU upgrade or BTO option in future MBPs?
We will definitely not see any BTO/CTO options for graphics cards in portables for quite some time. Unlike desktops, where different PCI-e cards can be swapped in and out at will, a portable is designed to be so compact that the GPU is soldered directly onto the logic board (or motherboard, for all you PC people).

Thus, the only way for GPUs in laptops to be CTO is to have several pin-compatible GPUs. Chances are this will not happen, but I could be wrong.

And though the X1600 is a mid-range GPU, I do not see a GPU upgrade in the near future for MacBook Pros. Look at the heat generated by the current MacBooks Pros. I'm typing on one, and I've got to say, it gets QUITE hot in some areas. None that I touch when using it on a table, but my lap would be hurting. Adding a faster GPU or just a GPU with more features (thus more transistors) would increase its power dissipation, decrease battery life, and make the "laptop" experience downright painful if it gets too hot.