AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Intel Mini for PS use?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Intel Mini for PS use?
Macinposh

2006-03-11, 12:56

A noob here asking stuff again.

So, in short.

My old workhorse (533 G4 Digital audio) is finally falling apart and im in for a hunt for a new rig.

I work as a photog so the use would be only using the CS 2.

The problem is that i am not too keen on jumping on the Quad G5 boat now, with all the big intell workrigs just behind the corner.

Sooo, i was just thinking of getting the new mini for a short (9month?) replacement untill the Quad Woodcrests (Q3?) or the quad quad cores come out in (Q1?).
Then i could retire the mini to my home media center,wich of i am in need anyway.

1.To make the the mini even somewhat decent, i tought maxing the memory to 2gigs and replacing the 5400rpm hard drive with some 7200rpm.

2.But, i dont seem to find any info on the 80/100 gig hdd´s if they are 7200rpm´s or the slower ones?
If they are the slower ones, well, then i´ll have to replace them myself.
It is a normal 2.5" sata,is it?

3.And for the future, does the future processors,for example, fit and work in the socket? Obviously the heat might be a bit of a problem, but, in general, do the 64bit processors work on this platform?

4.In wich way would the integrated GPU affect my working? Apparently in that kind of work the GPU doesnt play that big role? Or ?

5.Well, how retarded does this option sound in general?

Thanks in advance!
Banana
is the next Chiquita

2006-03-11, 13:10

I'd probably just upgrade the G4- add some more RAM and buy a new HD. If its already maxed out, processor should be upgraded as well. Seem to me more cost effective to upgrade a system to use for 9 months than to buy a compartively weaker system.
chucker

Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker