Password
AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

Help... What can I do??

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Help... What can I do??
macaddict23

2005-03-25, 16:36

If you own an Apple Computer you should READ THIS

Apparently some people on Craigslist don’t like what I have to say about Apple’s Policies regarding warranties. People keep flagging my posts, probably in an attempt to shut me up. I would guess that these are probably people who are trying to sell PowerBooks on Craigslist for high dollar amounts, but the Powerbooks may have a dent or two, so they don’t want you to read this information.

First, let me start off by saying that I have always been an Apple faithful. I have been using Apple’s since I was 12 years old. I have owned 5 PowerBooks, 3 G4 desktops, 3 iBooks, and two iMacs, 1Powerbook 150, 1 Apple IIgs, 1 Mac se, and 4 iPods. Yes I have had some problems on one or two occasions, but after some hard work, Apple came through with reasonable solutions. But, that was then, and this is NOW!

Let me give you just the basics information that discovered starting 1 week ago:
• When you buy a Powerbook/iBook the computer is covered by a 1 year limited warranty.
• After the first 90 days you no longer get phone support and must pay $49 per call.
• There is definitely an sales pitch for you to buy the Applecare Protection Plan for you computer when you buy the computer.
• There are letters mailed to you during the course of you first year of ownership, reminding you of all of the benefits of the Applecare warranty.
• Each time you call during the first 90 days for support, the agent will ask you if you are ready to purchase the Applecare warranty to ensure continued excellent service.
• What they don’t tell you is that if you dent, bend, or otherwise damage your Powerbook/iBook that Apple can and will void all warranties immediately. And yes, they are more than happy to keep that extra $349 you paid for the extended warranty!!