User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

So I can play decent guitar/bass, now I wanna learn how to drum+record basic demos

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
So I can play decent guitar/bass, now I wanna learn how to drum+record basic demos
Zodiac
Shiny, Musky, Fleshy Member

2007-08-04, 20:05

This is more for the musicians and audio geeks..

I've been playing guitar and bass for almost 2 years nonstop, I'm not the greatest. My guitar playing ability is at the point where everything grunge and punk is usually so easy I don't even have to look (not as big of an acheivement as it sounds if you know anything about guitar) and I'm starting to move on to harder stuff. I'm pretty good at fingerpicking and have decent speed, it's just like bouncing the tips of your fingers off the strings haha, I know a little theory and can figure out simple leads (like alice in chains' difficulty kinda leads) just by listening to the songs a couple times, but that's outside the point. I wanna start learning how to DRUM!

My dad has been an avid drummer for 25 years or so (he mostly plays neil peart's stuff but dabbles in metal, alt rock and folky stuff also) and over the years has built a super-expensive extreme drumset with 25+ pieces and some electronic drums thrown into the mix, so that isn't a problem. I've been watching him play my whole life so I know what good drumming sounds like and how a lot of the individual pieces of the set sound and work together, I can even play some basic beats but I don't really know where to start. My dad's a great resource but I'd like to figure out a lot of stuff on my own too, I don't really know where to start. Anyone have any advice?

Now for the real question..

We have an imac core duo upstairs with garageband (amazing app btw) and a toneport UX1, so I no longer am limited to recording total garbage with a practice amp and audacity.