User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Third-Party Products »

Is there such a thing as a dumb TV with 4 HDMI ports?


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Is there such a thing as a dumb TV with 4 HDMI ports?
Thread Tools
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2019-12-31, 14:26

So it dawned on me that I refuse to allow my smart TVs to connect to the internet. This of course really limits their usefulness without something like an Apple TV or Xbox connected to them.

Since I did connect the TVs to my network in hopes of being able to adjust volume, power on/off etc I can see all the attempts it makes to report back to their mothership. Of course they are blocked, but I don't want all of that. I really just want a quality screen with multiple HDMI ports.

Is there something like that on the market? Something between 55" - 65" like?

If you're curious, since the 26th at 7pm my time I've had 226697 attempts to connect to cdn.samsungcloudsolution.com from ONE of my TVs. It only does it while it's on, but it is relentless. Multiple attempts per second.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
kscherer
The Ban Hammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boyzeee
 
2019-12-31, 14:46

The last TV we bought is just a dumb panel. It has 2 HDMI ports, I think a 55". Not at home right now, but it seems to me it is a Sharp.

Dumb panels are getting harder to find. There is lots of money to be made in surveillance advertising, and dumb panels don't get that revenue.

Boise State! … Boise State! … Boise State!
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2019-12-31, 15:43

That's kinda what I expect at this point. It's like the assumed money in using us as a product results in lower price point on the sale of the TV. So I would end up having to get a TV designed for a convention center lobby wall rather than one for a living room.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
pscates2.0
Mr. Farmiga
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2019-12-31, 15:53

I was looking at TVs this past weekend (Target, Walmart and Best Buy) and I didn't see one that wasn't "smart", at least there on the shelves/in stock. Just out of curiosity/adventure, I tried to find one, any size, that wasn't...and I didn't.

And I didn't realize everything was so cheap now, even the 4K stuff (I haven't looked at TVs in a store for a good year or so, so it was all news to me).

I didn't realize they were constantly pinging out like that.

Real life is becoming one of those crazy sci-fi movies from the 80's, isn't it? Our lives and info are all flying out to parts unknown, and at some point a mulleted cyborg is going to be banging on my door demanding to see my papers.


I guess I shouldn't be laughing...
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2019-12-31, 16:07

Yeah, it is pretty much a surveillance state really. Sure the police aren't watching what you're watching, they just need to subpoena the TV manufacturer for those details. Or use one of the FBI/NSA/CIA hacks to gain access.

I strive to maintain my privacy but know it's a losing battle. I'm not going to just throw all my stuff out there though. I'm going to make them work for it.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
kscherer
The Ban Hammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boyzeee
 
2019-12-31, 16:07

We got ours at Fred Meyer. It wasn't even on display, just sitting in a pile of boxes.

However, the other option is to just buy a smart TV and turn the WiFi off.

Boise State! … Boise State! … Boise State!
  quote
PB PM
Sneaky Punk
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Send a message via Skype™ to PB PM 
2019-12-31, 17:12

Yeah it's getting hard to find a dumb TV that isn't old stock. I thought about upgrading to a bigger, faster refresh rate TV, but after seeing the current state of the market, everything "smart", I decided that my current TV is more than good enough.

Worst part now is that the new generation of cable/satellite boxes are all smart too, with voice control as such, more junk that needs to be turned off and since those things are on the companies network, not ours, I cannot control everything they do. If it was just me I'd dump cable, but family members still want cable TV, so nothing can be done about that.
  quote
drewprops
Magnificent Basturd™
sagacious-d
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2020-01-01, 01:19

Don't forget that they make HDMI splitters!


...
  quote
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
 
2020-01-28, 15:59

I managed to get a "dumb" TV, a 49" 1080p Insignia from Best Buy for like $180, a couple years ago. It was purchased solely because it was the only one that had flat feet, a necessity based on how our tiny living room was arranged at the time.

But "only" 3 HDMI ports. It's now part of a new media center and is connected to a Denon AV receiver that has 5 HDMI ports.

I had a smart TV before it that broke. From like 2012 or something. The smart functions were really slow and crappy. I'm sure they've improved a lot since then but I prefer an external device so it can be upgraded more easily. It's like getting a car with in-dash GPS vs. just using your phone.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2020-01-28, 16:32

I think that is the thing with your example of the phone vs in-dash GPS. I don't want my TV to do anything but display. I use other devices and tools to choose what goes on my TV. Heck, at this point I don't even want to have coax for OTA TV.

For now, I went ahead and unplugged the ethernet cable from my TV. I didn't give it access to my WiFi so I'm good there.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Bryson
Rocket Surgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitby
 
2020-01-28, 22:28

If you don’t mind paying for the privilege, and you really want a dumb TV, there are options in the world of professional TVs for digital signage or Hotel TVs that might be what you want.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2020-01-28, 23:01

That might be more of what I'm looking for but that seems odd to pay more just to not have smarts. Unless of course we pay less for smarts because they sell out tracking data to offset the cost of the equipment. Like printers and the ink supply. They sell you an inkjet cheap because you're going to buy the ink over the long run.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Bryson
Rocket Surgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitby
 
2020-01-30, 10:17

Generally the panels themselves are designed for longer running times per day, so that's really where the additional cost comes from.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2020-01-30, 11:38

That makes a lot of sense. I need to consider that for one of my screens actually. We have one that we use a lot for many reasons.
  quote
PB PM
Sneaky Punk
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Send a message via Skype™ to PB PM 
2020-01-30, 12:26

Another option is to get an AV receiver with 4 HDMI inputs, that’s what I did. Of course I’m also using nice speakers, cannot stand sound bars or built in speakers.
  quote
Frank777
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
 
2020-01-30, 19:32

I got a non-smart 55" HD Samsung some years back. Been wondering what I'll do when I'm ready to go to 4K.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2020-01-31, 21:59

My new Samsung works fine without the network connection. Really I don't even notice it now that it is controlled with the Apple TV remote or turns on with the Xbox. We do need the remote that came with it for the volume with the Xbox though. If you use the one with the Apple TV for the volume it switches from the Xbox to the Apple TV input.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Frank777
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
 
2020-02-01, 16:17

The problem with leaving a Smart TV unconnected to your network is that if the technical capacity exists for it to be connected, you have to be vigilant to ensure that some bad actor isn't out finding a way to connect it. I have enough to worry about these days.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2020-02-01, 19:15

Well, you really don't have to be vigilant with a TV if you never put it on your wireless network and you don't wire connect the network either. That is until the put a cellular chip in them... then you'd have to be concerned.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI cable AWR Purchasing Advice 5 2010-05-14 23:25
MacBook Pro -> HDMI -> LCD TV? chucker Purchasing Advice 2 2007-03-08 08:33
Can my iMac do HDMI? neiltc13 Apple Products 5 2006-09-28 11:15
Military Facility Closings: Good thing or Bad thing? Moogs AppleOutsider 1 2005-05-13 09:59
Confession Thing? Pretty Funny. Pope thing? Not Funny. Moogs AppleOutsider 33 2005-04-01 14:25


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2020, AppleNova