Password
AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

Biggest Scam Going??.....College Textbooks

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Biggest Scam Going??.....College Textbooks
kieran
@kk@pennytucker.social

2006-03-27, 20:10

Well I don't go to a "normal" school. Drexel is on a trimester schedule and I've been working for the past six months on my co-op. This means that I'm going back to classes on Monday for the first time this year. And that means one thing, buying books again.

Why are they so damn expensive? Really though, is there any other reason besides greed to make the books cost this much? The absolute worst is when a professor makes one of their books required reading for the course. That's straight bullshit.

I hate spending over $1000 every year just for books. Anyone else??
Kickaha
Veteran Member

2006-03-27, 20:11

*looks at several dozen shelf feet of textbooks*

I have no idea what you're talking about.

*goes to buy more Ramen*
atomicbartbeans
reticulating your mom

Send a message via AIM to atomicbartbeans  
2006-03-27, 20:14

Somebody needs to set up a textbook swap site, where you trade in texts from the previous semester for new ones at a nominal fee to cover shipping.

Thank god my high school signs out texts for the year.

You ask me for a hamburger.
MCQ
Veteran Member

Send a message via MSN to MCQ  
2006-03-27, 20:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieran23kk
You don't actually buy from the bookstore do you?

Buy on half.com, or any used books place. Trade books with friends, etc. There's no reason to spend so much.

And buy ramen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomicbartbeans
Somebody needs to set up a textbook swap site, where you trade in texts from the previous semester for new ones at a nominal fee to cover shipping.
People at some universities have already set up sites like that. There's a couple at UF that are book swap or listing sites.
Banana
is the next Chiquita

2006-03-27, 20:15

Quote: