User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Help with Finder Shortcuts....

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Help with Finder Shortcuts....
Track_40

2005-04-22, 13:52

Sorry in advance for the "windows" references... I'm new to OS X and don't know any better... yet.

- Is there any way to add an option to the "right" click menu in finder? Like, when I 'right-click' on the desktop, is there a way to create a option between "New Folder" & "Get Info"? I really would like a way to be able to quickly create a 'New [blank] Text File' right on the desktop.

- Is there a shortcut key to rename a file? In windows, when you have a file selected and you hit "F2", the file's name will highlight with a cursor at the end, and you can begin renaming the file -- without any mousework. Is there any equivalent in OS X?

- Is there a shortcut key to "refresh" a folder's contents? Again, in windows, if you want to update a folder's contents, you can hit the "F5" key repeatedly, and the folder window will refresh. Is there any equivalent in the world of OS X?

- Finally, are the "Home" and "End" keys on my Bluetooth wireless keyb not really supposed to do anything ever? It seems they work in very few apps - actually the only apps I can think of are Office 2004 apps. Is there a way to activate them for use in all text fields?
EmC

2005-04-22, 14:10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Track_40
- Is there a shortcut key to rename a file? In windows, when you have a file selected and you hit "F2", the file's name will highlight with a cursor at the end, and you can begin renaming the file -- without any mousework. Is there any equivalent in OS X?
Your return (enter) key will do that.
Track_40

2005-04-22, 18:40

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmC
Your return (enter) key will do that.
Thanks!
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-04-22, 18:46

Quote:
Originally Posted by Track_40