Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Powerbook decisions.

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Powerbook decisions.
mers

2005-04-06, 17:54

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Macs and have decided to get myself a shiny new 15" Powerbook because I think it's great hardware with a perfect blend of UNIX and GUI where you get to choose the abstraction that's appropriate for the task at hand. I've got a good amount of Linux, Windows, and hardware knowledge. But I never expected the limited Powerbook choices to be so difficult to make.

I've searched and read more posts than I can count. So here's a breakdown of my questions. I know there might not be answers to some of them, and I may have missed answers in other posts, but experienced opinions are appreciated all the same.

1. Memory

There are tons of posts on memory and what to get and how much. But they have still left me confused.

a) I've read that Apple factory-installs Micron and Samsung 512MB SO-DIMMs. Does anyone know what they install for 1GB DIMMs? The Apple store doesn't know. They told me that a reason to pay the premium for factory-installed memory is because battery life may suffer with after market products. Of course, if the after market product is identical to what they would have installed, it's a moot point. I'm also not sure how true their point is to begin with. But does anybody know the brands and models of 512MB and 1GB SO-DIMMs Apple is installing?