Password
AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

iDesign - Graphic Design For the Rest of Us

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
iDesign - Graphic Design For the Rest of Us
intlplby
Veteran Member

2005-10-26, 03:13

this is just a product idea that came to me... i don't know of anything out there..... i'm not a programmer, so i am not going to persue making it, so I'm gonna put it out there...

Basically is would be a graphic design program with an design guideline oriented artificial intelligence.... it automatically builds graphic design layouts that are tasteful based on user input and questions

it would be built loosely on the C.R.A.P. principle

Contrast
Repitition
Alignment
Proximity

It would work almost in the way setup wizards work and take the following input.

What are you making:
-Poster
-Letter
-Flyer
-etc

an outline input similar to omni outliner where you put in information in categories and it would also have a field called 'importance' which is basically a rank of the importance of the information in the document.
-i.e. the title would have a higher rank than description.
-i.e. an event name would have more importance than the location or time.
-i.e. location and time could be weighted with equal importance
you would also link relevant information together.... i.e. time and place would be linked to one another... this would be used by the AI engine to keep related information in relative proximity to one another.

Mood and intent-
choose for a selection of mood or intent from a list of descriptor words.
each mood would be linked to dozens of color schemes that can represent that mood.
different moods would take into account different color rules, such as warm vs cool colors, tone on tone, complementary colors etc.
you can manually choose a style here.
the choice of preset words can be matched to preset moods and color schemes with psychological testing of subjects.