Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Dual Screen with iBook??

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Dual Screen with iBook??
revolution

Send a message via AIM to revolution  
2005-07-23, 08:00

Firstly is it possible, I know it is with a PB but when I was browsing the apple site it never mentioned hooking up with an iBook. Basically I am a Graphic Design Student going into my 2nd year at uni, I needed a Mac so went for the cheaper option of a 14" iBook. Anyway its getting to the point where my screen is not big enough. I use my iBook as a desktop more or less occasionally moving it around, but this tends to be when at home and not Uni.

Basically I want to know if its possible to hook my iBook up with an external screen?? Also looking for advice on screens. I can't afford an Aplpe one, they are just to expensive for my student finances, so if anyone knows of some Decent flat screens I could use, this would be much apprecaiated!!
atomicbartbeans
reticulating your mom

Send a message via AIM to atomicbartbeans  
2005-07-23, 08:09

Yes, it is possible. First, you will need the VGA adapter that comes with your iBook. Once you've found that, you will need a little script called 'Screen Spanning Doctor' that allows for your iBook to run in extended desktop mode. The reason you need the script is because Apple disables the screen spanning feature on all iBooks (to justify the extra cost of the PowerBook), and you must re-enable it via above script (don't worry, it's simply a matter of clicking it and restarting). Finally, you will need a suitable display. I personally use a generic 15" CRT, which can be picked up at garage sales for $20-$30. If you'd like an LCD screen, I recommend newegg.com. Look around, and you can find them for $200-$250.

You ask me for a hamburger.
Koodari
Veteran Member

2005-07-23, 16:25

Dell flatscreens are good. My iBook is driving the 24" one, but the 20" ones can be had a lot cheaper.
cyrusmekon