User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Can Print Via Wi-Fi But Not Ethernet


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Can Print Via Wi-Fi But Not Ethernet
Thread Tools
drewprops
Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2020-06-28, 09:12

This is a dumb networking question, but I'd like to understand why I can't print via ethernet to a printer on my home network, but as soon as I turn on Wi-Fi it works. I finally had time to grab this question out of my brain and slam it down somewhere. I will try to look it up myself, but some of y'all may make it easier to understand than me slogging through videos and ad-infested faux tech articles.



...

Steve Jobs ate my cat's watermelon.
Captain Drew on Twitter
  quote
_Ω_
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Send a message via AIM to _Ω_  
2020-06-28, 14:46

Because printers are evil things that follow no discernible logic.

Printer sharing turned on?
  quote
Brad
Selfish Heathen
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
2020-06-28, 15:27

I've also seen where some wifi routers will put the wireless addresses and wired addresses on different subnets, and that can cause "auto discovery" services like Bonjour to not find or be found by other devices.

Unfortunately, I haven't encountered that situation in a while, and potential fixes vary wildly by circumstance and hardware.

Are you able to get the wired IP address of the printer? Are you plugging that into the Printers & Scanners list in System Preferences? Or have you always let it auto detect?

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
  quote
drewprops
Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2020-06-28, 17:57

Urg. First of all, let's not go much further down this road because it really does work with wireless, so I can get by.

Having said that, it's a Brother laser printer and I think it's doing what Brad mentioned.

Peeking into the machine via its utility I see that it has different MAC addresses for wireless and wired.

Looking at the list of devices on my network via my router, the printer only appears once and fascinatingly, the hardware address seen by the router is the MAC address associated with the printer's wired setup.

Looking in the Printer Utility, there is no IP specified, so it's probably on auto-discovery?

I feel like I need to shiver uncontrollably and run around flinging my hands in front of me, like I just escaped the hotel from The Shining.

Steve Jobs ate my cat's watermelon.
Captain Drew on Twitter
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
802.11n Ethernet bridges Eugene Purchasing Advice 2 2008-01-12 09:03
Looking for program like Print Master/Print Shop for Mac markw10 Third-Party Products 1 2007-04-08 22:33
Migration to New Mac via Ethernet? screensaver400 Genius Bar 8 2006-03-29 20:15
Ethernet problem womblingfree Genius Bar 4 2006-02-03 07:45
Possible Bad Ethernet Port section8joe Genius Bar 13 2005-10-12 13:09


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:40.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2020, AppleNova