User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Question about IBook problem and Applecare

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Question about IBook problem and Applecare
mdeloria

2005-02-24, 13:42

This is my first post, but I have been lurking at this forum for a couple of months.

I am a windows convert of about a year now. I purchased a 12" G3 ibook, the last G3 model before the ibook went to G4. Safe to say, although I love this ibook and OS X, I have had a lot of problems.

First, my computer is definently a victim of the Logic Board problem common in this version of the ibook. I have sent it in twice already for repairs for the similar video failure. In fact, I have never had my ibook working for a period of 6 months straight. It is becoming a serious problem because I am a CS student in college and I absolutely need a laptop.

Well, after I return from class today, guess what? The ibook's screen is frozen once I open the lid. It didn't go to sleep for some reason and all I could hear is this weezing noise which I believe was the fan. So I look at the laptop, try to get it to rewake or something, and then smoke starts coming from hinge near the screen. Not Good. I pop out the battery, it turns off, and I wait. So now I can't restart my ibook. It makes the traditional apple chime when I restart but no video and I hear this weird noise coming from the hinge. I try to hook up an external monitor and nothing comes up. I don't hear the hard drive clicking so I assume that is still intact.

Anyway, when I had my laptop repaired for the second time, I asked the technician what I would happen if this problem kept occuring. He said that if it does, that they will give me a new laptop (I have applecare thank god) that most closely matches mine. Well since they don't make G3's anymore, looks like I would get a G4 ibook. So I have kinda been waiting for this problem to occur again.