User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

MacBook hdd replacement question


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
MacBook hdd replacement question
Thread Tools
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-03-03, 10:47

I got my new MacBook this morning and installed the RAM, no problem. Went to install the new harddrive, but come to find out I need a T-8 Torx screw driver. Where the hell can I find one that small? I only have T-10 and Ive called a couple different places so far and thats the smallest they have too. Ive tried home depot, compusa, and a local hardware store. I may go and try Best Buy and Sears. Anyone have any recommendations?

Die young and save yourself....
@yontsey
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2007-03-03, 10:54

Newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Go.x=0&Go.y=0

Both those kits have the one you need. They're $26 or $50.

RadioShack: http://www.radioshack.com/search/ind...igkw=torx&sr=1

A $9.78 set that has Torx T8: http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

As for local stores, I naturally can't give you much advice, not living anywhere near Ohio.
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-03-03, 10:57

Didnt even think to try radioshack, maybe ill call them. im on the phone with sears right now. hopefully they come through.
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2007-03-03, 10:58

Funny, RadioShack would have been the first local store for me to try.
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-03-03, 11:01

Radioshack has a set with it in there.

I figured that places like Sears or Home Depot or CompUSA would have shit like that, but I guess not. I swear, sometimes those stores are useless.

Die young and save yourself....
@yontsey
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate South Carolina
 
2007-03-03, 11:21

Try Sears and avoid RS. I hate RS but they are good in a pinch. I got my set from Sears, at least it warranted and for life vs the crap you have to get at RS.

T8 only
Miniature 24pc Set

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Fahrenheit
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Send a message via ICQ to Fahrenheit  
2007-03-03, 11:53

http://cgi.ebay.com/REPAIR-TOOL-T-8-...QQcmdZViewItem
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2007-03-03, 11:55

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farenheit View Post
$5 shipping on a $2 item?
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-03-03, 12:16

I installed my new harddrive and it's not showing up on the "destination to install OS" section. Ive done this 3 times and it never shows up. What could I be doing wrong? Do I have to format it before hand somehow? I thought it did that when I installed the OS...

Die young and save yourself....
@yontsey
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2007-03-03, 12:19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yontsey View Post
I installed my new harddrive and it's not showing up on the "destination to install OS" section. Ive done this 3 times and it never shows up. What could I be doing wrong? Do I have to format it before hand somehow? I thought it did that when I installed the OS...
You can launch Disk Utility from the Utilities(?) menu. Does it show the drive?
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate South Carolina
 
2007-03-03, 12:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yontsey View Post
I installed my new harddrive and it's not showing up on the "destination to install OS" section. Ive done this 3 times and it never shows up. What could I be doing wrong? Do I have to format it before hand somehow? I thought it did that when I installed the OS...
Like chucker said. Launch DU from the menu bar and format there before you install the OS.
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-03-03, 12:21

Yeah, it shows up there but not in system profiler or destination for volume install.

Im gonna format it. Which is the best format to go with?
  quote
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
 
2007-03-03, 12:24

HFS+ Journaled.

Also, when you do a fresh install, you might want to avoid installing language localizations, extra fonts, and extra printer drivers. You'll save at least a GB and you won't miss any of that stuff.
  quote
PKIDelirium
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
 
2007-03-03, 12:24

Mac OS Extended Journaled.

Edit:
  quote
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slightly Off Center
 
2007-03-03, 21:50

Also - make sure to click the Options button and choose GUID Partition Scheme when formatting.
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-05-28, 02:49

Im about to hook up an external hdd to my pc so I can store my movies and videos and what-not on there. What is the best formatting choice so that I can access it on both pc and my macbook?

Die young and save yourself....
@yontsey
  quote
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
 
2007-05-28, 04:30

FAT32. Read/write ability in both Windows and Mac. OS X can't write to NTFS volumes, and Windows can't read OR write to HFS+ volumes.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate South Carolina
 
2007-05-28, 08:43

Luca answered your question, but if you are planning to leave the drive connected to a PC and connect to it through the network then you would be better off using NTFS. While the Mac can't read from it directly, there are less limitations with NTFS than FAT32.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
 
2007-05-28, 09:31

I thought of mentioning that, but I figure that it would be more beneficial to be able to swap it between two computers if necessary than it would be to have a small amount of added flexibility when it's connected to the PC. What happens if the PC has problems or if you're unable to get a network connection going between the two computers?
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate South Carolina
 
2007-05-28, 09:36

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luca View Post
I thought of mentioning that, but I figure that it would be more beneficial to be able to swap it between two computers if necessary than it would be to have a small amount of added flexibility when it's connected to the PC. What happens if the PC has problems or if you're unable to get a network connection going between the two computers?
I haven't had those problems personally so I never think about those. Worst case, he could load up Parallels and transfer the data from the NTFS drive to a Mac or FAT32. There are few drives that I actually use as portable personally so I don't think about swapping around.

Seems that if the drive is going to stay stationary and not *need* to be connected to the Mac directly then NTFS and network would be the answer. Otherwise, FAT32 would be best to allow the interoperability.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-05-28, 09:54

Thanks for the response fellas. For the time being, it's going to be stationary to the PC, but I may try and pick up a cheap Apple desktop in the future so I wanna make sure that it will be possible to be able to go between both systems.

Die young and save yourself....
@yontsey
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
 
2007-05-28, 10:42

Call me retarded, but when I plugged in my external hdd to my pc, it came up as an unknown device. No biggie. Though, I cant figure out how to reformat it. I never really work on pc's and this is why I dont, because they make everything so much harder and confusing then it should be.

It doesnt show up in My Computer. I do see it in Device Manager, but like I said, all it says is Unknown Device. It showed up as not recongnized.

Help.

Edit:
After a lil research, I found out that Fat32 can only allow up 32gig formats. If I formatted it on my Macbook as MS-Dos File System, will that allow me to read/write on both Mac and PC? Will it allow for more than 32gig partitions?

Edit #2:
Ok, so, I formatted the external hdd in MS-Dos File System and now when I plug it into the pc, it comes up as an Unknown Device still and wont show up in the My Computer folder. Why cant everything be as easy as an Apple?




Eh, whatever, it showed up finally. Im so frustrated with that stupid ass pc already.

Die young and save yourself....
@yontsey

Last edited by Yontsey : 2007-05-28 at 13:22.
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My MacBook experience Partial Apple Products 85 2007-02-09 17:15
What is this connector for ? iMac HDD Nico_from_Paris Genius Bar 5 2006-11-08 07:48
Poor HDD, RIP ? Nico_from_Paris Genius Bar 3 2006-11-07 08:33
Question about 17 inch macbook pro expose on battery!! krnholeboy32 General Discussion 8 2006-06-21 17:19
MacBook Question MacMan05 Apple Products 3 2006-06-10 14:35


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2022, AppleNova