User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Connecting two monitors to a MBP


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Connecting two monitors to a MBP
Thread Tools
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-08, 20:52

I have a Cintiq 12wx and a 15" MBP. The Cintiq uses a converter unit and a DVI/VGA switch which is currently plugged into my 15" MBP and acts as an tablet/external display. I also have a 17" Sony monitor that I want to also connect to my MBP.

What I'm wondering is that is there some additional device I can purchase that will allow me to have the above two external monitors be simultaneously connected to the MBP? Any recommendations?

Also I can then assign a separate "Space" to each monitor in my System Preferences?

Thanks in advance for the help.
  quote
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slightly Off Center
 
2008-08-08, 21:00

This should do the trick:

http://www.amazon.com/Matrox-D2GA2AI.../dp/B000OV818I

That's the VGA version - a DVI version is also available.
  quote
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-08, 21:11

Excellent. Thanks so much for your help.
  quote
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-08, 21:22

Do you recommend Analog or Video? I'm pretty unfamiliar with all of the technical aspects.
  quote
scratt
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: M-F: Thailand Weekends : F1 2010 - Various Tracks!
Send a message via Skype™ to scratt 
2008-08-08, 21:39

That's cool. I did not know about that little toy...

Looks like my monitor fetish is going to get a little boost.
  quote
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slightly Off Center
 
2008-08-08, 22:06

Quote:
Originally Posted by luxuryreplica View Post
Do you recommend Analog or [Digital] Video? I'm pretty unfamiliar with all of the technical aspects.
I suppose that it depends on what you're currently using for your MBP's video output. You mention a DVI/VGA switch, so I'm not sure if you're switching DVI to VGA, or VGA to DVI.

Also, it depends on whether your Sony monitor has a DVI input, or is just VGA.
  quote
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-08, 23:22

The Cintiq uses either DVI or VGA, and I have cables for both. The Sony, However is over 5 years old and appears to only have the VGA cable. So it looks like I'd have to get the Analog version to run both monitors.
I did a little research on the differences between DVI and VGA here: http://www.thesmallest.com/lessonettes/dviandvga.html


I was considering purchasing a new Samsung Monitor in a few months, so I may hold off until I purchase the new monitor. The Cintiq's manual says that DVI 'results on optimum performance"

It also says that "Cintiq can be used alone or with another display, such as a CRT monitor or LCD projector. Yo use Cintiq with another display, you will need two video cards or a video card with dual output"

So does the most recent MBP have a built in video card with dual output?
Edit: I think I found the answer "Dual-link DVI outputs for digital flat panel display resolutions up to 2560x1600"
I am hoping that it supports Analog as well?

I believe this is the Graphics card information:
GeForce 8600M GT-NVIDIA (0x10de)

Thanks again for your clarification. This technical stuff can get a bit confusing.

Last edited by luxuryreplica : 2008-08-09 at 00:02.
  quote
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-17, 09:06

Just to update: I ended up getting the analog version, so I am now enjoying three screens mirrored or two separate screens. The only drawback is that in order for my cintiq tablet to work without being stretched onscreen is to work at 1024 x 768 resolution which creates about an 1" of black space on either side off my screen.
It also requires a usb port as does my cintiq, thereby filling up all available ports. Will try to get a hub and see if it works all right with that soon.
Overall though, it works as advertised and I think it is a great device. Ironically, macworld reviewed a similar one here if anyone is interested in reading about it:
http://www.macworld.com/article/1350...tml?lsrc=top_2
For productivity's sake, this is a great solution, so thanks again for the recommendation!
  quote
curiousuburb
Antimatter Man
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: that interweb thing
 
2008-08-17, 11:10

There are also potential (if less capable) solutions using:

USB-based additional output

and Leopard-friendly support from VillageTronic for PCMCIA-based GPU
  quote
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-17, 13:11

Thanks for that information as well.
  quote
Dave
Ninja Editor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
 
2008-08-18, 00:57

That PCMCIA one won't work with your MBP. It's got the wrong kind of slot.
  quote
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-22, 21:18

Hello again, Now that I have my nice new dual monitor setup, It ends up using all my available USB ports on my MBP.
(The matrox display duplexer and cintiq 12WX both use usb power)

So my question is, can these displays that are powered by USB, be plugged instead into a hub, or is it too much of a power draw?

I was hoping to pick up a hub tomorrow, but wanted to check here first.
  quote
PB PM
Sneaky Punk
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Send a message via Skype™ to PB PM 
2008-08-22, 22:02

If you get a AC powered USB hub it should be fine.
  quote
luxuryreplica
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
 
2008-08-22, 22:09

Nice. Thanks PBPM.
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running MBP in clamshell mode? Sauvblanc Genius Bar 1 2008-02-22 16:22
Need advice from MBP users - swap iMac for MBP? steve77uk Purchasing Advice 10 2007-10-29 21:24
possible to take bottom casing off MBP C2D to pop out dent...? reardoma Apple Products 4 2006-11-21 08:01
Connecting MBP to Samsung LCD babelfish Genius Bar 4 2006-10-13 12:17
MBP and two external monitors? macleod Apple Products 27 2006-02-28 15:35


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2024, AppleNova