AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

dead pixel scare & cute mom..

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
dead pixel scare & cute mom..
olec

2005-04-19, 13:51

Hey everbody!

finally i have decided to join the board! after months of just watching and
learning i figured it was time to post myself!
i am a 19 year old student from germany and currently waiting for
my brand new powerbook to arrive!
well,... the only thing i am (REALLY) worried about are dead pixels,
i know - a TFT screen would cost a gazillion dollars if the threw out the
ones with dead pixels but still - 1550 euro (edu) is an unheard of sum for me,
and i want this thingy to be perfect!!!

well,...i wonder how often dead pixels occur and how high the %tage for "perfect" screens is..

having said that i wanted to let you know what my mom said about the problem when i explained it to her:

"you know, in the middle east the people who make persian rugs by hand always put a little flaw into it.. - because only God is perfect"

awww... isnt that cute?

i still want a perfect powerbook tho...

Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-04-19, 13:54

Among the four screens I use regularly (my PowerBook, my g/f's iBook, and two PowerBooks at the office), I've seen a grand total of zero dead pixels.

I don't think there are any real statistics on deal pixels. Everything I've heard is purely anecdotal and, of course, you're going to hear a lot more horror stories than glory stories because the people with perfect screens are just quietly content.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
Random Hero

2005-04-19, 14:14

I have one on my 1ghz TiBook that's stuck, and I would probably never have noticed if my friend hadn't pointed it out... grr.