Password
AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

DVD Encoding Software + Mac software essentials

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
DVD Encoding Software + Mac software essentials
AtomicGarden

2006-07-21, 05:23

Hey guys

Ok, here it goes. I will hold out till WWDC in case the processors get updated and then buy a shiny new iMac. Now I've been reading so much about the Mac and Apple since I bought my 4th Gen. iPod in the summer of 2004. However, Steve and co. manage to surprise me over and over again. So I am currently starting to buy and build up a software library. I was checking for messaging software yesterday and got told that AdiumX is a great program - I currently use Trillian on my PC notebook. After visiting their site I decided thats the way to go. For the IRC chat protocol I am probably going to use Colloquy. For that I am studying Design & Art I will of course stick to Adobe, Macromedia and Apple software (especially Final Cut Pro) . I was considering MacTheRipper or DVDBackup to rip DVD's - however I've learned that both programs are not being developed anymore. The Finish law has changed and makes it a crime now to rip DVD's - thats why they stopped new releases of MacTheRipper. Plus its getting harder and harder to get your hands on this program. Any alternatives? I currently use Shrink on my PC and its a great program - if I could find something simular for the Mac that would be great...
For writing etc. I am probably going to use OpenOffice - which I know preforms pretty well under Linux..

Any other suggestions software wise? What do you like to use? Please feel free to add whatever you like.

Thanks very much guys,

Have a great hot summer day (at least if you come from Europe ;-)

-Jan
MagSafe

2006-07-21, 07:11

I've actually been doing something similar, buying & building up a nice legal software library, however I've already got an Intel Mac Mini.