Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Advice on buying a Print Server

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Advice on buying a Print Server
chimerical

2005-05-19, 03:16

Hi,

I'm an newbie to the world of apple and have just moved across from MS but have just bought a powerbook, 15" 1.67Ghz. I'm really impressed and very happy with it. I now want to connect my usb Epson printer to a print server so my desktop computer doesn't have to be switched on inorder to print etc..

I am using WIFI from the powerbook to my 3com wifi router. I want to add a print server directly to this router to allow me to print over wifi also.

What experiences do you guys have with this kind of setup. Any print servers that you really recommend or any that you have had problems with. It also has to support MS XP/2000 as well - so my wfie can print to it from her laptop also.

Many Thanks in advance,
torifile
Less than Stellar Member

Send a message via AIM to torifile  
2005-05-19, 06:46

An Airport Express can be a USB print server. Shouldn't have any problems with Windows clients.
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472

2005-05-19, 10:32

I have battled through getting a Belkin and a Linksys print server to work on the Mac. The biggest thing I found was Mac didn't support the drivers to enable the network printing. Do a search on the forum for "print server" and you will find a thread I started and ended up getting the network printer working. FYI, I have an Epson connected to the USB print server. I am currently using my Linksys print server though. I like the fact I get more ports with it. Read my thread and if you still have questions get back with me.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a nation of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
Visit our archived Minecraft world! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
JoshL75