User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

Best Audio Input on G4 for Recording?


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Best Audio Input on G4 for Recording?
Thread Tools
philh
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
 
2006-03-29, 17:46

Hi,
I wish to start converting some vinyl to mp3 via Audio Recorder 3.
Does any one know which connection on a G4 gives the best quality audio input or are they all the same?
Also they would have to be able to connect to a pair of phono sockets on the hifi.
Thanks.
  quote
Dave
Ninja Editor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
 
2006-03-29, 18:36

Depends on what you mean by "which connection". If you're talking about using the built-in sound, then there's only one choice and it'll work fine. If you're talking about using an external A/D converter, then you could spend anywhere from $150 to several thousand $$, and they'd all work fine. (In general, the more expensive ones would sound better though.)

When I was a kid, people who did wrong were punished, restricted, and forbidden. Now, when someone does wrong, all of the rest of us are punished, restricted, and forbidden... and the one who did the wrong is counselled and "understood" and fed ice cream.
  quote
BFG
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
 
2006-03-30, 03:53

Philh, i use a M-Audio 410Firewire box which works great, it gives me all the connections i could want, excellent control over them and um.. well apart from that lil problem with booting/sleeping and having to have it on it was a great buy

Mr Chuckles the Nipple Monkey
2.66Mac Pro 1900XT and lots of goodies
  quote
intlplby
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
 
2006-03-30, 09:06

m-audio firewire and use the program soundsoap for the 'dirty' vinyl
  quote
scrouds
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
 
2006-03-30, 09:13

one note about converting vinyl. phono players do not produce a line level signal. but the mic in on the mac expects a line level in. so either you need an external box with a phono port that will convert oto line level, or you need to run your turntable through a stereo/preamp to get a line level signal.
  quote
philh
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
 
2006-03-30, 14:34

Dave,so if I want to use the built in sound, I will need a pair of stereo phono plugs to a 3.5mm stereo jack such as this?
http://www.cabling4less.co.uk/Cabling4Less_109.php
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving audio from tape input Chris A Genius Bar 2 2005-08-01 12:59
A Sirius Satellite Radio Ipod bigtex Speculation and Rumors 15 2005-02-11 22:44
Apple audio interface box for GB? Mac+ Speculation and Rumors 5 2004-11-24 13:32
Lossless Audio Files xionja Genius Bar 2 2004-07-21 09:15
How much have you spent in the iTunes Music Store? v4 Paul Apple Products 16 2004-06-10 15:32


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2019, AppleNova