User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Third-Party Products »

Help needed for work from office to new state without

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Help needed for work from office to new state without
surjones

2008-05-02, 12:15

Okay so here is my dilemma - I have been offered to chance to Telecomute from my house in Maine, but the condition is that I need to remote desktop. NOW I know nothing about this stuff - I am a newb to the max on this. I know Apple has a program called Remote desktop - But I need to make the NEW MacBookPro at my house in Maine basically be the machine at my current desk. I saw when leopard came out SJ was talking about look at a window like it was the monitor of the other machine. This needs to be seamless so I dont loose a day of work because I am the backbone of the company that makes sure all 7 division play nice together.....help!!!

thanks

Last edited by surjones : 2008-05-02 at 12:27. Reason: :)
Fahrenheit
Veteran Member

Send a message via ICQ to Fahrenheit  
2008-05-02, 12:23

[ot]Anyone else read the title of this thread like 15 times and still not understand it?[/ot]
curiousuburb
Antimatter Man

2008-05-02, 12:26

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farenheit View Post
[ot]Anyone else read the title of this thread like 15 times and still not understand it?[/ot]
State without offices or a state without work?

Maybe it's a state of confusion.

http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/ (there are tutorial videos at that link)
surjones

2008-05-02, 12:27

oh BTW - and I dont know if this will make my dilemma worse, but they are PC's and I am mac
euain

2008-05-02, 12:28

It could well be Microsoft Remote Desktop - used to remotely access windows machines.

Have a look at: MS's website for the free download.

It works pretty well. I use it occasionally to access Windows machines, er, remotely and haven't had any problems. I use the Beta version that's available and haven't seen any problems.

Euain
surjones