User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

Are you allowed to "upgrade" to a lesser version of Adobe CS?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Are you allowed to "upgrade" to a lesser version of Adobe CS?
psmith2.0
Mr. Vieira

2006-01-27, 16:24

I have the Premium version of the first Adobe Creative Suite (bought it a few years ago).

Anyway, I would like to upgrade to CS2...however, I've NEVER used Acrobat (full version) and GoLive, the two extra components that make the premium edition, well, premium.

All I need/want are the three core apps found in the Standard edition that I make my living with: InDesign, Illustrator and Photoshop (we use CS2 at work, and I really dig some of the Photoshop and InDesign enhancements).

On Adobe's site the only options they specifically mention for upgrading from CS1 to CS2 are within each category (Standard CS1 > Standard CS2, etc.), OR going, of course, from Standard CS1 to Premium CS2.

Apparently I'm the lone idiot actually looking to go from Premium CS1 to Standard CS2. An upgrade via downgrade, as it were...

Not a huge issue (I'll call 'em if it gets to be too much), but I was just wondering if any of you have been in the same situation and what you were able to work out?
PKIDelirium
Veteran Member

2006-01-27, 16:33

I don't "own" any CS products, so I don't know for sure.

I'd say call them.
torifile
Less than Stellar Member

Send a message via AIM to torifile  
2006-01-27, 18:40

I believe the upgrades just require a valid license key. I have a hard time believing that it wouldn't work. Of course you can't find it out until you've agreed to the license to keep the software after you've bought it. Damn shrink-wrap licensing.

If it's not red and showing substantial musculature, you're wearing it wrong.
ghoti
owner for sale by house

2006-01-27, 19:36

Here's a theory why this *might* not work. That is not to say it won't, just playing devil's advocate here.