User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Does an iMac make a good TV replacement?


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Does an iMac make a good TV replacement?
Thread Tools
Chellovek
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Place of settlement or residence.
 
2006-10-27, 13:07

Well, just as the thread title says. I need to buy some form of new TV but I'm pushed for space. Any comments regarding using an iMac and a DVB tv tuner to create a tv replacement? Anyone out there on the intarwebs use such a setup?
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2006-10-27, 13:11

DVB-T, DVB-S (or S2) or DVB-C?
  quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2006-10-27, 13:13

Lots of people use Macs as TV-replacements. It's not hard at all, and the quality can be very good with the right tuner.
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2006-10-27, 13:17

Quote:
Originally Posted by fcgriz View Post
Lots of people use Macs as TV-replacements. It's not hard at all, and the quality can be very good with the right tuner.
But since an iMac doesn't have HD inputs, nor any interface with the necessary bandwidth for HD input, you're probably limited to something like 720p, if even that.
  quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2006-10-27, 13:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by chucker View Post
But since an iMac doesn't have HD inputs, nor any interface with the necessary bandwidth for HD input, you're probably limited to something like 720p, if even that.
Right. I can't think of any HD tuners for Macs at the moment.

[edit]

I stand sort of corrected. The Elgato Eye TV Hybrid apparently will feed HD content to your Mac, but you have to have an external digital antenna. It can't take feeds from a cable or satellite box, though.

Twitter: bwyatt | Minecraft: bwyatt_IN
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2006-10-27, 13:24

Chellovek, Elgato makes hardware and software for watching and recording TV. Miglia also makes hardware, but uses Elgato's software.
  quote
Chellovek
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Place of settlement or residence.
 
2006-10-27, 13:35

Well maybe I'll come clean

I bought a Miglia DVB-T 'tv-mini' tuner and the elgato eyetv software about a month ago; it's done me proud for watching tv on my powerbook. However, I was really interested in seeing if folks have made the step of replacing their 'main' tv with a mac, and to see what those suggestions were without any preconceptions of what my existing hardware was.

On the finer details: eyetv does seem to do the trick, but it doesn't really integrate that cleanly with frontrow. Other options (mediacentral, centerstage, etc..) just don't cut it. The best I can imaging would be eyetv / frontrow with RemoteBuddy to do the switching. Ideally I'd like to ditch iDVD and replace it with VLC, but I can't see a simple way of doing that in a manner that any idiot can pick up the remote, wave it around, and get the tv to work.
  quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2006-10-27, 13:38

I thought the newest EyeTV software had a link to Front Row on the menu. You might check to see if you have the latest version.

Also, I think you're confused about iDVD. iDVD is for making DVDs--DVD Player is for watching them.

Twitter: bwyatt | Minecraft: bwyatt_IN
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2006-10-27, 13:38

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chellovek View Post
Ideally I'd like to ditch iDVD and replace it with VLC
  quote
Chellovek
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Place of settlement or residence.
 
2006-10-27, 13:57

Thanks for the speedy responses. I must say, having lurked on applenova for >2 years this is about the most coherent and informed bunch of apple ner-do-wells I've ever come across.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcgriz View Post
I thought the newest EyeTV software had a link to Front Row on the menu. You might check to see if you have the latest version.

Also, I think you're confused about iDVD. iDVD is for making DVDs--DVD Player is for watching them.
Yes, EyeTV does have a link into FrontRow - however the Miglia remote doesn't always behave when driving FrontRow. Hence I think RemoteBuddy might help, being able to drive both eyetv and FrontRow from the apple remote (or if 5 buttons don't suffice, something larger).

You're right I am mistaken, I mean the DVD player app, not iDVD.
  quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2006-10-27, 14:02

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chellovek View Post
Thanks for the speedy responses. I must say, having lurked on applenova for >2 years this is about the most coherent and informed bunch of apple ner-do-wells I've ever come across.
Thanks. We do love to help.

Quote:
Yes, EyeTV does have a link into FrontRow - however the Miglia remote doesn't always behave when driving FrontRow. Hence I think RemoteBuddy might help, being able to drive both eyetv and FrontRow from the apple remote (or if 5 buttons don't suffice, something larger).
It's a bit big, but you might try the ATI Remote Wonder. It's a pretty solid remote, and I'm sure you can probably get it to work with Front Row and EyeTV.

Twitter: bwyatt | Minecraft: bwyatt_IN
  quote
Chellovek
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Place of settlement or residence.
 
2006-10-27, 14:12

Quote:
Originally Posted by fcgriz View Post
It's a bit big, but you might try the ATI Remote Wonder.




Thanks! I think the Keyspan Express might be my best bet if the apple remote is too small!
  quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2006-10-27, 14:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chellovek View Post


[IMG]http://images.google.co.uk/images?q=tbnBE8s654-0dmnM:http://www.offshore-technology.com/contractor_images/kanfa/3_oil_tanker.jpg[/IMG]

Thanks! I think the Keyspan Express might be my best bet if the apple remote is too small!
Haha, I love the boat analogy... yeah, it's a big-ass remote. It works well, though (I had one for my Home Theater PC).

Keyspan looks pretty good. I don't know if I'd seen that before or not.

Twitter: bwyatt | Minecraft: bwyatt_IN
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does future hold for the iMac? Unbeliever Speculation and Rumors 128 2006-09-06 14:54
New iMac too? jdcfsu Speculation and Rumors 48 2006-07-05 17:34
Does it make sense to wait to buy an iMac until Tiger? revolver Speculation and Rumors 3 2004-10-18 09:15
Guaranteed to make you appreciate the iMac G5... Gizzer Apple Products 30 2004-09-18 20:44
new imacs imminent confirmed by apple (Merged with hmurchison's thread) windowsblowsass Speculation and Rumors 120 2004-08-09 18:38


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:53.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2020, AppleNova