Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

OSX Questions: Fonts & Desktop Images

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
OSX Questions: Fonts & Desktop Images
Track_40

2005-02-05, 09:10

Hi

I just bought my first mac and have a ton of questions....
I'll start off with two here.

Being a graphic designer I have TONS of fonts, prob about 1000 at the moment. I bought Suitecase XI (which i've used on the PC for years), but my question is, if I didn't have Suitecase, and I loaded all the fonts into the "system folder/fonts" folder, would that take up system resources similar to windows? Windows will load all the typefaces and make them ready for use - thus taking up memory. If I weren't using Suitecase, would the Mac do this too?

Also, what about for 'desktop' images? I think I saw a folder that held all the desktop images. If I add 200 images to this folder, will it take up any more system memory?

Be gentle... I know these may seem like lame questions.

Last edited by Track_40 : 2005-02-05 at 09:38.
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-02-05, 12:05

First of all, assuming you are using Mac OS X and not some ancient machine with Mac OS 9 or older, you should never (and neither should Suitcase!) touch the contents of the /System folder. Things like fonts and such should go either at the top /Library folder or your home ~/Library folder. See my post here for an explanation as to why this is. Yes, it's long; just scroll to about half-way through. If you don't already know about this, you'll thank me later.

FYI, fonts can be stored either directly in the Library/Fonts folder or they can be nested deeper in a folder structure. For example, fonts that I have at Library/Fonts/Apple/Myriad are still picked up just fine.

I'm not sure about memory usage and fonts, though.