Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

Powerbook sleeping, partitioning and other questions

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Powerbook sleeping, partitioning and other questions
saturn

2005-02-09, 17:17

Hi people,
I'm a newbie to the world of Mac. Yes I'm a switcher or soon to be that is. My 12" Superdrive Powerbook will hopefully be arriving next week. I have a couple of questions to ask you fantastic geezers.
  1. The hard drive is 80Gb. I know with my experiences on Windows systems, that I need to partition a HDD of this size in order for it to be efficient and also to optimise performance. Is this also necessary for MacOSX or is the OS able to efficiently manage a single 80Gb partition with ease? Is there a need for a swap partition like Linux? I'm concerned with the efficiency of the OS. Of course an 80Gb single partition would be nice if MacOSX is indeed able to manage it efficiently.
  2. I'm going to be using the Powerbook around Uni and as such I'm planning to just close the lid and put it to sleep whenever my lecture finishes. Then I'll just shove it into my bag and walk around with it until my next lecture. Is this ok? I'm worried about the Powerbook sleeping and being jostled around with my textbooks whilst being vertical.
  3. Also how much battery is consumed when the Powerbook is sleeping? Is it feasible to leave it sleeping for say the whole night?

Thanks you lot! I appreciate any of you taking the time to answer any of the above questions.

Cheers!
SledgeHammer

2005-02-09, 17:24

1. I can't help you here. I've never partitioned either of my drives (20gig internal, 80gig external) and don't know much about it. I'm sure someone here will have a good answer for you.

2. I do pretty much whenever I take my computer short distances (to school and back, etc.). As far as I know, as long as it is sleeping and the hard drive has spun down, it shouldn't cause any problems.