Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Core Solo okay for mom?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Core Solo okay for mom?
machick

2006-03-04, 15:52

Hi,
As I stated before, I'm fairly new in the Mac world and even more in the dark about this whole Intel thing - which is why I came to these message boards! My mom, who doesn't know a thing about computers, finally wants to purchase one and has asked me for advice. I would like to buy her a Mac Mini but am unsure of which to purchase - Core Solo or Core Duo?. I look at the posts on these boards and it seems as if many think that Core Solo sucks in comparison to Intel Core Duo.

I was wondering, though, would it be okay to get my mom the lower-end Mac Mini with the Core Solo if she wants to use it for mundane tasks (Excel, Word, Safari, etc.) but also wants to run Photoshop (when it comes out in universal form) and GarageBand (don't ask...)? Would Photoshop and Garageband even run okay on the Mini?

Any insight would be much appreciated!
Ebby
Subdued and Medicated

Send a message via AIM to Ebby  
2006-03-04, 16:03

I've never used GarageBand, so I don't know about that, but Photoshop will run, just slower than other macs. It should be fine for simple edits since it doesn't sound like your mom will be using 16-bit images, 20 layers, blending effects, and image masks like some of us pro users do. Photoshop is one of those programs that can run quite well on a 333Mhz Beige G3 for small tasks, yet bring a Dual 2Ghz G5 to its knees if you need it to.

MS Office will run fine. The biggest weakness for the mini is CPU intensive 3D games. I won't go into details, but if you have the slightest notion to run Unreal Tournament, best get an iMac.

^^ One more quality post from the desk of Ebby. ^^
SSBA | SmockBogger | SporkNET
GladToBeHere

2006-03-04, 16:16