Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

Pointer jumps with standard Apple mouse

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Pointer jumps with standard Apple mouse
ecs

2005-08-05, 05:30

Hi,

Because I'm quite new to the Mac, I don't know if this is a defect on my system, or a known issue in the standard Apple mouse (wired, the one that ships with new iMacs), or maybe it's caused by OSX:

From time to time, my mouse pointer jumps suddenly to the top menu of the screen. I believe it doesn't happen everyday, just a few times per week. And I think the "jump" happens when the mouse was quiet and I begin to move it, then I wonder "hey! where's the pointer?!?", and I always find it somewhere in the top of the screen. My mouse speed is set to 9, I don't know if this can be the cause, but lower settings require a lot of hand movement to navigate from "coast to coast" in a 20'' screen.

Anybody else experienced this too? With the Apple mouse, or with other mice too?
mooty

2005-08-05, 06:32

This happens to me with my Mighty Mouse on Windows XP... Probably just a driver problem for me though...
kretara
Cynical Old Bastard

Send a message via AIM to kretara Send a message via Yahoo to kretara  
2005-08-05, 09:21

I've noticed that over the past 2 days that my white apple 'pro' mouse occasionally jumps to one side of the screen or the other, when I am not even touching it.

Its really annoying.
JLL

2005-08-05, 09:34

Do you use your mice on a blank surface?
alcimedes
I shot the sherrif.

Send a message via ICQ to alcimedes  
2005-08-05, 09:35

Or if it's used on a shiny wood grain I've seen them do this. If you put them on a mouse pad of some kind then test it out, see if it's normal.

Google is your frenemy.
Caveat Emptor - Latin for tough titty
I tend to interpret things in the way that's most hilarious to me
ecs

2005-08-05, 09:39