User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Intel iMac or Quad?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Intel iMac or Quad?
Grip

2006-01-10, 18:32

I know, I know, at first blush this question might seem inane, but ...

I have been looking to upgrade my primary desktop computer to a Power Mac and specifically -- a souped-up Quad. I have been using an iMac G4 for about 3 years now and I feel like it is "fighting the good fight" but it is just too slow to deal with any longer. I end up on my 1.67Ghz 17" PB most of the time. Plus there are many applications I'd like to start using, like Aperture.

I would have pulled the trigger on a new Quad with a 23" display a few months ago, but I waited to see what was up Apple's sleeve today. And today we got the new Intel iMac.

I regarded the iMac G5 as a capable computer and probably would have suited me just fine but I don't like changing my setup too often (which is why I held on so long in the first place) so the Quad remained the frontrunner for my money. But now the Intel iMac may change the equation.

For a fraction of the price I can get what seems on paper to be a very powerful computer -- display included. This Intel iMac could keep me happy for at least a few years more and I could save a giant chunk of change for the next Power Mac (or whatever they decide to call it). Or I could go all out now and enjoy an healthy Quad setup for several years.

Thanks for reading and any responses.
Wrao
Yarp

2006-01-10, 19:45

Well, one of the boons of the mac market is that there is a good turnaround for reselling. This is changing a little bit now that apple has been ramping up their update cycle, but still, The $2000 mac today, will still be worth something a year from now. In some cases, it can still be worth upto $1600 or so, and all things considered, that's pretty rad.