User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

Tiger and iBook Screen Spanning?


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Tiger and iBook Screen Spanning?
Thread Tools
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2004-07-12, 16:02

I just tried hooking up an external display (Sony Multiscan 15sf; I realize it's over ten years old but it has worked fine with Jaguar and Panther), and now I can't seem to access any screen spanning options in System Preferences any more - the "Arrange" tab is missing in Displays. Has anyone else experienced this? Does the hack no longer work (newer ATi driver?), is the Displays panel just bug-ridden (they seem to have re-layouted things a little) or am I just missing something big time?
  quote
DMBand0026
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago
 
2004-07-12, 16:46

It's possible that you have to re-impliment the hack. The firmware that you edit to allow for spanning may have been changed back when you installed tiger.

Just a guess though.

Come waste your time with me
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2004-07-12, 17:22

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMBand0026
It's possible that you have to re-impliment the hack. The firmware that you edit to allow for spanning may have been changed back when you installed tiger.

Just a guess though.
Had thought of it, but the thing is, it's never happened to me with a system update before; I've had this hack installed pretty much since mid-2002 and have since gone through several Jaguar and Panther re-installs - the hack would always work.

I suppose I should give it a try.
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2004-07-12, 18:47

DUH! Don't mind me, I'm stupid. I had issues with installing Tiger and, just to go sure, zapped the NVRAM *rolleyes*. No wonder the hack isn't active any more.

Gonna try and re-install it. I see that "Screen Spanning Doctor" also adds clamshell mode... Wonder how well that works
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2004-07-12, 19:51

Victory! Now I even have clamshell mode. Successfully tried it out... maybe I should buy one of those Tactile Pro keyboards now to be able to use it well
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guess the next iBook update... win a prize! Wickers Speculation and Rumors 100 2004-10-31 14:46


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2020, AppleNova