AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

Living in an Attic: Part One

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Living in an Attic: Part One
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
World Leader Pretend
Ruling teh World

2006-06-13, 14:33

The house that my family just bought is around 100 years old and was the original farmstead in the area. Now it is just another old house in the neighborhood, but it's still pretty cool.

Anyways, when we moved here I was intrigued by this attic! It wasn't finished or anything, but as an aspiring architect I could see the potential. I want to make it into a loft type of area, like something that you would find in Dwell magazine or big cities. I set out to do just that, and I am going to keep you guys posted on the events. The attic itself is around 22x20, so the floor is pretty expansive.

The problem (for my neighbors) is that it is HOT up there during the day, so I find myself up there at all hours of the night making lots of noise. Hopefully they won't hate me too much.

At this point in time, I'm in the demolition stage. The past owners made a room completely out of interlocking flooring in half the attic, which has taken lots of time to get out.

So I got my crowbar and hammer and owned that siding!

Lots of the corners are plaster with some useless insulation scattered about, and lots of dirt. There are also lots of live wires, but they haven't got me yet.

Now I have lots of wood sitting in a corner with no where to go with it, I'll probably toss it out a window or burn it

I plan to re-insulate the walls and brace the roof, since it is flat on top. After that I'll sheet rock it all and install some overhead lighting. For the floors I think I'll pull out the existing wood (which is really nice, but old) and run them through my grandpa's planer and re-finish them. There are lots of little things like electrical work that also needs to be done.