User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

Replacing a Furnace


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Replacing a Furnace
Thread Tools
drewprops
Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2020-09-26, 13:02

Our old GE gas furnace is 55 years old this year, and as I'm replacing the thermocouple the nut that holds down the lower part of that assembly doesn't seem to want to snug up (I'll try again after lunch).

But it looks like there's heat "damage" to the area where the brains of the unit are located.

So I'm thinking it's time to spend the dough on a brand new unit, and would love some advice.


...

Steve Jobs ate my cat's watermelon.
Captain Drew on Twitter
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
Send a message via AIM to Yontsey Send a message via Skype™ to Yontsey 
2020-09-26, 14:05

55 years? Yeah might be time for an efficiency upgrade lol
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate South Carolina
 
2020-09-26, 14:44

Yeah, I'd send the money on a new unit. The cost savings of the fuel alone should easily net you a gain in short order.

Given how old it is there isn't any surprise to see some damage in the interior, so it likely could be fixed, but I can't help but think it would be like trying to keep a Yugo on the road today because some parts are still good on it.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Matsu
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2020-09-27, 08:50

Shop around. Like everything else involving a home there’s a huge range of prices for often essentially the same stuff. A lot of the time contractors base their price solely on what they think they can get. In our area HVAC guys would routinely fleece seniors with insane quotes and shady door to door marketing companies offering “free” estimates.
  quote
Frank777
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
 
2020-09-28, 15:48

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matsu View Post
Shop around. Like everything else involving a home there’s a huge range of prices for often essentially the same stuff. A lot of the time contractors base their price solely on what they think they can get. In our area HVAC guys would routinely fleece seniors with insane quotes and shady door to door marketing companies offering “free” estimates.
True, though I imagine the Canadian market simply has more furnace-related shenanigans than other places.
We get a bit passionate about being protected from freezing to death.

The Atlanta market is probably different, given that people are still contemplating the lifespan of 55-year-old furnaces.
  quote
PB PM
Sneaky Punk
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Send a message via Skype™ to PB PM 
2020-09-28, 23:32

Our furnace was over 42 years old when we replaced it this past spring. A good unit, at least old ones, lasted a long time. Of course we have two gas fireplaces that supplemented it for the past 30 years, so it didn't have to work as hard as a stand alone unit might. We had the thermocouple replaced a few times, had the gas lines cleaned and such, but the welds throughout the unit were starting to fail, so time was up, and we wanted AC. If we are lucky the new one will last 10 years...
  quote
drewprops
Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2020-09-29, 08:35

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank777 View Post
The Atlanta market is probably different, given that people are still contemplating the lifespan of 55-year-old furnaces.


HEY!!! We get cold too!!!

I just come from a long line of frugal people.

Now I do understand "built in obsolescence", but why do the newer units have such shorter lifespans? Is it because they're more complicated, in order to gain efficiency?

Also: I am dragging my feet on getting quotes.

Also: my dad always said he didn't get central air I installed because the between-floor ducts in the house were never wrapped, just installed "raw".

...
  quote
Matsu
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2020-09-29, 09:50

You can try this stuff: www.Aeroseal.com. In our area it seems like the quotes are about equal to $1 CAD/sq ft), so typical job tends to be about $2,500 for a 2500sq ft home.

.........................................
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
Send a message via AIM to Yontsey Send a message via Skype™ to Yontsey 
2020-09-29, 13:08

Aeroseal is nice. My uncles company is a licensed installer for that stuff.
  quote
Anonymous Coward
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2020-09-29, 13:18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matsu View Post
You can try this stuff: www.Aeroseal.com.
Link should be https www.Aeroseal.com
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing .Mac Bryson Purchasing Advice 12 2007-03-26 06:13
Replacing Macbook LCD D2G Genius Bar 9 2007-03-13 20:29
Replacing HD in an iPod turbulentfurball Genius Bar 4 2007-01-09 10:46
Replacing MB HDD, Help make sure I do this right. turtle Genius Bar 10 2006-11-14 01:48
Replacing icons in OS X flail Genius Bar 2 2005-04-28 19:29


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2020, AppleNova