User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Powerbook 15" or 17"

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Powerbook 15" or 17"
mvalenstein

2005-06-26, 15:59

In August I plan to purchase either a powerbook 15" or a 17" powerbook. Right now I'm not sure which one I should buy and I'm hoping that you here could lend me some advice.

Well as a 'soon to be' mac convert, I'm not incredibly concerned about the size of the 17" pb being too big, but I'm wondering if someone could reccomend a computer based on my scenario.

I'm a student starting high school in the fall and I currently have an old laptop that I use. I do not travel with the computer, to say that I have never flown with the computer I have now, I don't take it on the bus, no need to take it to school etc. The only time that the computer is moved is when I move it around the house on the wi-fi. I'm wondering if anyone who has faced a similar scenario can tell me whether they decided on a 17 or a 15 and whether they feel that they made the right decision. The computer will not really be travelled with, just worked with on a bed, probably on my lap on a chair, and a table. I'm also a big guy (6', 185) so I don't really think that the size of it on my lap would be such a concern. This computer would definitely be the primary computer that I would use. One thing that makes me like the 17" model is the 128 meg graphics card (yes I know that you can do this on a 15" too) and the larger screen. I like to play games, and I already have bought some mac games such as Halo. I also use photoshop on windows and have purchased that for mac so I can use that too. One concern though, is that I have no space to put a desktop in my room, so I feel that an iMac would not be the right decision.