AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Newbie question re: IBooks

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Newbie question re: IBooks
LSUTigerHiker

Send a message via AIM to LSUTigerHiker  
2005-10-13, 11:22

Hi,
I have been doing some research concerning the "switch." I am limited by my resources and are trying to decide what is best for me out of the ibook line and the 12" powerbook. I live/lived in New Orleans, and we have no Apple Store. The CompUSA guy told me to wait for the big announcement yesterday. Plus, he had neither of the three laptops in stock anyway.
Specifically, I am wondering about the display of the 14" ibook. I followed a link to a review of the ibooks vs the 12" powerbook and it wasn't favorable to the 14". It would be a stretch for the powerbook, but if it is nec. then I'll eat a lot of speghetti o's or something.
I am a teacher and a grad student, so I don't really need any high end applications. I use my current laptop for word processing, powerpoint, web surfing---I dump the digital camera photos of my kids and I have a little bit of music on here as well.
Sorry in advance for what may be a stupid question--and a long winded one at that.
staph
Microbial member

Send a message via AIM to staph  
2005-10-13, 11:31

If that's really all you're doing, I reckon the 12" iBook would actually be perfectly adequate for your requirements, ditto the 14", and any Powerbook would be a delight. The screen on a 14" really isn't that bad either, I just don't think you get that much extra utility out of the bigger screen, provided your eyesight is OK. Remember also that you can plug the 'book into an external monitor to get a bigger and higher quality display when you're at home.