User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Quad Ram Upgrades


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Quad Ram Upgrades
Thread Tools
Bryson
Rocket Surgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitby
Send a message via AIM to Bryson Send a message via MSN to Bryson Send a message via Skype™ to Bryson 
2005-10-22, 15:09

Hello all,

I'm buying a Quad, and I need 2Gb ram. I assume the RAM in the new Quad has to be "paired" like it did before?

If so, what does it ship with? 1x512? or 2x 256? So can I put in 2 1GB sticks for a total of 2.5GB, or do I have to put in 1x512 and 2x1GB? Or worse, do I have to remove the 512 and throw it away? If I can end up with 2.5gB for the same price (or cheaper!), then I'm laughing!
  quote
LudwigVan
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
 
2005-10-22, 16:04

According to the US Apple Store (click the Quad model, then look at the list of customizable features) the default memory is "512MB 533 DDR2 Non ECC SDRAM- 2x256".

According to the US Apple site, specifically the tech specs part of the PowerMac section:

Quote:
PC2-4200 DDR2 SDRAM (NECC) installed in pairs: 512MB, 1GB, 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, or 16GB; 1GB or more available in choice of ECC or NECC
and

Quote:
Eight DIMM slots supporting up to 16GB of main memory
It doesn't look like there's any need to throw away the original memory unless it's either bad or you run out of slots.

EDIT: Oh, and purchase any extra memory from a third party. I assume the situation is the same in the UK as here in the States: Apple charges a lot more for memory from their store compared to other online/brick-and-mortar vendors.

Last edited by LudwigVan : 2005-10-22 at 16:35. Reason: Memory purchase info
  quote
kenbriggs
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
 
2005-10-22, 21:32

My old PC needs to be retired and I am planning on buying the G5 Quad. I have the Mac version of Photoshop CS2 sitting here just waiting to be installed. First how much RAM do I really need. CS2 can address 3.5 GB. So, I would guess 4 GB at a minimum.

Concensus seems to be non ECC unbuffered. How important are the memory timings? I have found DDR2 PC4200 with CL timings of 3,4, and 5. What about brands? Are there any I should stay away from? Kingston appears almost as expensive as Apple, and Crucial I don't think I found any 2 GB modules. I did find OCZ 2 GB modules for $303 at one online vendor. These are rated CL 3-3-3-8. I think I want to go with 2 GB modules just to keep my options open if I decide to max out the memory to the full 16 GB.

Thanks for any input,
Ken
  quote
Ghostnine
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Send a message via AIM to Ghostnine  
2005-10-22, 21:45

Photoshop is fine with just 1gb RAM, 2 is fine.. but you're not going to see huge performance boosts after that

as for timing, you really pay attention to that for overclocking, other than that 3 3 3 8 is just fine

as for brands, i recomend Corsair, or Kingston HyperX... it may be expensive, however VERY relable

ECC RAM is really only needed in server environments or for computers dedicated to mission critical tasks, for the average user it's really not needed, so save the extra cash and go for the non-ECC RAM
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to purchase 3rd party RAM for a Mac iBeard Purchasing Advice 57 2018-07-12 05:10
15" PB 1.67 new RAM installed, old ram quit nmkramer Genius Bar 7 2005-09-21 17:28
Failing pBook RAM slot caesarm Genius Bar 0 2005-04-19 05:40
RAM problem with new iBook Mr. X Genius Bar 69 2005-01-11 00:59
Using PowerBook RAM in iBook? moof_point Apple Products 3 2004-11-29 16:53


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2018, AppleNova