User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

Screw AT&T: Tether your iPhone anyways (on a Mac)


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Screw AT&T: Tether your iPhone anyways (on a Mac)
Page 1 of 4 [1] 2 3 4  Next Thread Tools
Kraetos
Lovable Bastard
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston-ish
 
2009-06-17, 14:25

Have an iPhone? Live in the US? Have a Mac? Want to tether your iPhone?

Easy: Activate tethering on a US iPhone

Enjoy
  quote
jdcfsu
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
 
2009-06-17, 14:30

Awesome! I will be playing with this later when I get a free moment.
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2009-06-17, 14:47

No need to install a pre-release of iTunes. Just type in Terminal:

Code:
defaults write com.apple.iTunes carrier-testing -bool TRUE
…and relaunch iTunes. Now option-clicking "Check for Updates" will let you pick the .ipcc file.
  quote
Yontsey
*AD SPACE FOR SALE*
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cleveland-ish, OH
Send a message via AIM to Yontsey Send a message via Skype™ to Yontsey 
2009-06-17, 15:16

That's awesome! Thanks for the tip guys. Quick and painless to set up.
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2009-06-17, 18:01

Worked just fine for me.

Using it now with my MBA.
  quote
pscates2.0
Mr. Farmiga
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2009-06-17, 18:16

Has Quagmire seen this? He's having a bit of trouble...
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2009-06-17, 18:36

Mine worked just fine.

Used the terminal command, then updated the carrier settings.

I don't know if I'm having the call issues that Quag was having, but I guess I'll find out soon enough.
  quote
Quagmire
meh
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2009-06-17, 19:02

Yeah, this was the method that caused me those troubles.

I used this method to get tethering and it hasn't caused me problems.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=721946

giggity
  quote
EmC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Send a message via AIM to EmC Send a message via Skype™ to EmC 
2009-06-17, 20:32

Mine is working fine. I hope they (Apple & AT&T) don't bork this. I would really like to be able to use this when I go back to work in August. Our internet filters block most everything now. Occasionally there are things on youTube that I would like to be able to show my classes.

What Adobe Updater‽ What‽ What‽ WHAT‽
  quote
Jerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Siloam Springs, AR
 
2009-06-17, 20:34

Well darn, I have been trying to get this working for a little while now, and found that others are saying the original iPhone does not support tethering. Was looking forward to finally being able to.
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2009-06-17, 20:37

People have done tethering with NetShare on the original iPhone, so it's obviously a software block, not a hardware limitation.
  quote
SpecMode
Wait what
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NorCal
 
2009-06-17, 20:44

Y'all might want to be careful not to overuse this while it's unsupported; there's always that chance that AT&T might have some way of distinguishing tethered data use from the phone itself, and determine that it falls outside your iPhone's data plan and thus charge you extra for it. Japanese cell providers, for example, are notorious for doing this, and lots of folks have ended up with the equivalent of thousands of dollars in data charges.
  quote
Jerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Siloam Springs, AR
 
2009-06-17, 20:49

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieran View Post
People have done tethering with NetShare on the original iPhone, so it's obviously a software block, not a hardware limitation.
Yeah, I used to use that when I kept it jailbroken. But when version 2.0 came out last year, I got tired of the hassle. But yeah, it's a shame that they are blocking it.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2009-06-17, 22:40

Doing the Terminal command and setting up tethering seems to have caused my wife's 3G to fail to connect with Visual Voicemail.

Seems I'll have to restore her phone now.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Jerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Siloam Springs, AR
 
2009-06-18, 00:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtle2472 View Post
Doing the Terminal command and setting up tethering seems to have caused my wife's 3G to fail to connect with Visual Voicemail.

Seems I'll have to restore her phone now.
I seem to have read something about this... Let the iPhone call her voicemail number and let it cycle through the messages a couple of times. That seemed to have restored it for someone. I know that was a bit vague, I will see if I can find the link here in a few minutes. But definitely try that before you restore

***Edit*** Here is the link:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...5&postcount=79
And something that worked for another user:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...&postcount=242
A third:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=716133

Hope one of these can help! There's definitely a lot of info at the thread posted by Quagmire!

Last edited by Jerman : 2009-06-18 at 01:08.
  quote
sunrain
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Portlandia
 
2009-06-18, 01:11

Neato. Works great. I'll be using mine sparingly in case I'm being charged .25 a kilobyte.
  quote
nikstar101
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Send a message via Yahoo to nikstar101  
2009-06-18, 03:49

Ohh i wonder if someone has the O2 (UK) file thingy so i can get that too work.....
  quote
Kraetos
Lovable Bastard
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston-ish
 
2009-06-18, 16:30

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecMode View Post
Y'all might want to be careful not to overuse this while it's unsupported; there's always that chance that AT&T might have some way of distinguishing tethered data use from the phone itself, and determine that it falls outside your iPhone's data plan and thus charge you extra for it. Japanese cell providers, for example, are notorious for doing this, and lots of folks have ended up with the equivalent of thousands of dollars in data charges.
Eh, people have been using NetShare and jailbroken tethering for more than a year, including myself. My bill has never been affected by the extra data use.
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2009-06-18, 17:53

Yeah, I've had NetShare and have used it many times.

For all AT&T knows, all i'm doing os browsing on my iPhone.

I've not heard that there was a way of distinguishing where the information was going to.
  quote
Dave
Ninja Editor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
 
2009-06-18, 19:24

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieran View Post
I've not heard that there was a way of distinguishing where the information was going to.
They can't tell it's tethered, but they do, for instance, know that there's not a bittorrent client for the iPhone.
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2009-06-18, 19:38

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
They can't tell it's tethered, but they do, for instance, know that there's not a bittorrent client for the iPhone.
Yeah, I know that much.

All I'm saying is, how does AT&T know that the iPhone isn't my only internet access? I could be using it all day for all of my internet needs.
  quote
MBHockey
skates=grafs
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
 
2009-06-18, 19:52

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieran View Post
Yeah, I know that much.

All I'm saying is, how does AT&T know that the iPhone isn't my only internet access? I could be using it all day for all of my internet needs.
That's exactly why they want to charge so much for it.
  quote
Wyatt
On twitter: @bwyatt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2009-06-18, 21:01

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
They can't tell it's tethered, but they do, for instance, know that there's not a bittorrent client for the iPhone.
But AT&T (so far) isn't charging people extra to have jailbroken phones, so there's no way they know you're using your laptop.

For example, there is a BT client for jailbroken iPhones.
  quote
ghoti
owner for sale by house
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
2009-06-18, 22:21

It would be pretty easy to tell from the concurrent connections. Also the speed of going from one link to the next (and hopping back and forth between different websites) would give it away. I guess they just don't want to bother implementing it and dealing with the fallout if they actually do it. As long as only a small number of people tether/jailbreak without paying, it's not a big issue.
  quote
Partial
Stallion
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Milwaukee
 
2009-06-18, 22:31

With tethering, would I in theory be able to get rid of my 1Mbps internet connection and be satisfied? Can I use bit torrent over it?
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2009-06-18, 22:32

I think BT might tip them off that you're tethering.
  quote
ghoti
owner for sale by house
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
 
2009-06-18, 22:43

Do you mean officially, with payment, or with the current hack? Without paying for tethering, I guess the sheer volume of data will tip them off sooner or later. You're probably in the clear if you only use it now then, but detecting abnormal amounts of traffic is pretty easy.

I don't know what their upload is, but in principle there's no reason why BT wouldn't work.
  quote
remlemasi
Formerly “theelmerguy”
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Irvine, California
 
2009-06-18, 22:48

JW, how much is considered more than "fair usage"?

>500MB/month?
>1GB/month?
>2GB/month?

What are your average monthly data usages?
What is considered a lot?

I'm using about 100-125MB/month... is that very little?



ALSO: If those rumors about capped data plans are true, what would you guess would be a likely cap for the lowest plan? What are other carriers around the world charging for capped data plans?
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2009-06-18, 23:03

Technically, it's an unlimited plan, but I'm sure AT&T has a number in their head.
  quote
remlemasi
Formerly “theelmerguy”
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Irvine, California
 
2009-06-18, 23:43

I'm going to make a POLL...
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Page 1 of 4 [1] 2 3 4  Next

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screw this I'm getting a Mac Pro Yonzie General Discussion 18 2008-02-01 20:41
Jobs to iPhone Screw Job Victims: We're Sorry; Have a C Note. Moogs Apple Products 46 2007-09-07 20:53
Getting a screw out. Franz Josef Genius Bar 25 2005-12-08 03:51
Screw problem mama's left eye Genius Bar 8 2005-06-12 04:22
Someone's Trying to Screw Me, Should I Screw Him? Random Hero AppleOutsider 13 2005-05-16 15:40


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:58.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2018, AppleNova