User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

What to buy... PB for video editing?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
What to buy... PB for video editing?
JBMB

2005-01-14, 00:15

I'm new to mac and looking to get a machine that I can do some FCP video editing on. I'm thinking laptop right now, but having trouble deciding which one to get. I was leaning towards the PB 12-inch (PB 15-inch is very unfortunately out of my price range) but was a little unhappy with the screen size so took a glimpse at the i-book line. It seems that I can get the high end 14-inch ibook with all the same specs as the PB 12 (G4 1.33, superdrive, same resolution) and even upgrade to 768 MB RAM and 80 GB...not to mention the bigger screen... for cheaper than the PB. The only difference as far as I can tell is the videocard--the PB has a slightly better one. My question is, will this machine as described above be as powerful as a PB 12? Will it be able to handle the video editing? What would you recommend? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

---Also, is the apple store the best place to buy a mac?---
ezkcdude
Veteran Member

2005-01-14, 09:20

You might want to read the threads in Rumors and Speculation. It seems G5 PB's and iB's may be afoot. I'm going to hold out a bit longer to make my decision.
LudwigVan
Veteran Member

2005-01-14, 10:53

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezkcdude
You might want to read the threads in Rumors and Speculation. It seems G5 PB's and iB's may be afoot.
But I'd have a big chuck of sodium chloride standing by with this rumor...
ezkcdude
Veteran Member

2005-01-14, 15:26

You're right about that Ludwig. Since my previous post, I came to the realization it was a typo, and that they meant to say G4. So, today I ordered my new PowerBook. I don't think there's any update coming until June.
JBMB

2005-01-15, 13:58