Everything Is Outter In Texas

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Everything Is Outter In Texas
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
Frank777
Veteran Member

2021-02-16, 16:22

What's going on in Texas is unreal.

We deal with snow and ice storms all the time up here, and I have to say even here everything the government touches is eventually held together with bubble gum and duct tape.

I'm no electrician, and I'm happy to be schooled here. Can anyone explain to me why it's not absolutely standard in the electrical code for all homes to have a 'pass-through outlet' (my term) where you could plug a generator (gas/solar/other) outside and it would feed maybe four to six inside outlets? In these rare cases, you could easily plug in your fridge, furnace, hot water tank and charge your phone.

Emergency generators are ridiculously cheap. Most people don't need a $5000 always-on Generac. People don't keep them on hand because they have no easy way to use them. And they keep hearing about people dying as a result of them. The government encourages citizens to lean solely on huge centralized systems, and then lets them down time and again.

Watching people freeze to death or die of carbon monoxide poisoning in this day and age is insane. No one in government or the utilities will be fired over this, even in Texas. Since we're all paying a lot for civic emergency bureaucracies and no-one seems ready for an actual emergency, people need to start being jailed.
psmith2.0
Mr. Vieira

2021-02-16, 16:46

A saw a thing online where the downtown Houston skyline was all lit up/glowing (most buildings empty/unused at night), while, in the foreground, were darkened, powerless houses likely full of cold, miserable people.

Something seems very off in that. I don’t know how cities and grids work, and I want to believe if there was an easy, safe and quick way to route that stuff from downtown to elsewhere they’d be doing it. I hope.