User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Ad-aware and Spybot


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Ad-aware and Spybot
Thread Tools
luxmac
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Luxemburg
 
2005-03-07, 09:08

on pc i used Ad-aware and Spybot to keep malware at bay

what can i use for mac? i already put exploer out and firefox in
  quote
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
 
2005-03-07, 09:12

There's no need. Macs are not affected by the vast majority of spyware. In fact, I've only heard of one instance of spyware EVER on a Mac, and it was only as part of LimeWire. It has since been removed from LimeWire, bringing the total number of spyware threats to Mac users back down to zero.

So, no need for Spybot or Ad-Aware. Nice, isn't it?
  quote
Brad
Selfish Heathen
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
2005-03-07, 09:23

FYI, Explorer isn't a bad browser on Mac OS X like it it on Windows. It can't install malware (or anything else for that matter) because it's not integrated in a way that makes it even possible. That said, it is still a very old, slow, and non-standards compliant browser that should be relegated to the trash.

And don't forget about Safari! That's a decent little browser worth trying for a few days before you totally jump over to Firefox. Some people don't like the default settings in Safari; so, be sure to browse the View menu and the Preferences to play with the options.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
  quote
luxmac
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Luxemburg
 
2005-03-07, 10:56

tanx
ifeel much better

and what about antivirus nothon and so on? needed?
  quote
Brad
Selfish Heathen
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
2005-03-07, 21:52

Read this thread for some advice about antivirus software and this thread for some choice words about Norton in particular.

Short answer: no, you don't need antivirus software.
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:43.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2018, AppleNova