Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Thinking about a Notebook

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Thinking about a Notebook
Sharp Canadian

2005-09-28, 14:43

Hey, I'm new to these fourms;
Im in grade 11 and have got a spare where I can do all my homework and assignments. I often find myself in need of a notebook/lapytop to go on the internet or type up a project.
Anyways I'm looking for a reason to buy a laptop what are the goods? the bads?the bouns'? I will be going to university after high school as well.
I have been a windows user all my life but I thought about an ibook because, well...I dont know why I have also looked at the dell inspiron 600m/6000.
I have a home computer but it's old and breaks alot its a AMD XP 1800+ 1.53GHz ands 256MB RAM. The 12" ibook is almost better then that except for the CPU.
What are the good things about a mac? what is the internet like? how easy is it to switch? why would i want one over another type of laptop/notebook?
If i type up something on the mac can i print it off with my windows PC printer?What makes them so expensive over other laptops of the same quality?I have a budget of only about $15-$1600 CAD. Another thing what are the games like for macs?

Any Info you can give me will be greatly appreciated
BlueRabbit
Veteran Member

2005-09-28, 17:33

I would get a laptop so you you can do the things like I'm doing now. I'm currently sitting in the skybridge of the U. of Washington's Suzallo library, in one of those comfy sofa things, resting my feet on a chair. You can't do that with a desktop.

As for switching to a Mac, it's quite nice. The printer will work out of the box, internet connection is a snap, and it's just all around well-made. You'll say to yourself, "Why can't Windows work like this?"
switchr92

Send a message via AIM to switchr92  
2005-09-28, 21:37